Jeff Loomis - Plains of Oblivion

Jeff Loomis
Plains of Oblivion
Century Media
Jeff Loomis, former Nevermore guitarist, is back with his second solo album after 4 years since the debut, “Zero Order Phase”. The guys that helped him in the recordings are: the guitarist Joe Nurre (Shaded Enmity), the bassist Gregory Macklin (System Divide, Ordinance) and the drummer Anup Sastry (Intervals, Skyharbor). The album was produced by Aaron Smith (7 Horns 7 Eyes) and mastered by Jens Bogren (Paradise Lost, Opeth, Katatonia, Amon Amarth, etc.). As expected, the sound is amazing.
There are several guest appearances in the album… starting from the guitarists: Marty Friedman who’s participating in the first song “Mercurial”, Tony Macalpine in “The Ultimatum”, Attila Voros in “Requiem For The Living” & Chris Poland in “Continuum Drift”… and continuing with the vocalists… Ihsahn (Emperor, Peccatum) in “Surrender” and Christine Rhoades in “Tragedy and Harmony” & “Chosen Time”. Except from the three abovementioned songs, which are good… all the others are instrumental.
Shredding has its honorable place in this album and you will get enough of it if you’re a fan of fast solos and heavy leaks. Marty, Tony and Chris… are offering that extra thing… in the album… while Jeff is moving around his known places. Some of the songs... are what we’ve heard thousands times before… speed on speed… fast drumming and so on… nothing to offer eventually… if you happen to follow this kind of music. Unfortunately, this album is OK for a couple of spins… but then again nothing will make you wanna play it again… you will obviously forget about it… as there are other more significant releases… you could spend your money on. Nothing exceptional here… just another average metal shredding album rather uninspired… Sorry guys but we have heard the same things… and they were even better in the past...