The Antikaroshi to release new studio album “Extract.Transform.Debase” on April 23rd 2021

The Antikaroshi Extract.Transform.Debase cover
German avant/post-rock trio The Antikaroshi presents their fifth LP, “Extract.Transform.Debase”, ending a five-year gap between albums. The album has just been announced to see release this April, once again through their allies at Exile On Mainstream, who now issue a new teaser, the cover artwork, track listing, preorders, and more.
The Antikaroshi is the name of an unwanted song written, played, and recorded out of a pleading necessity to do so. Why? Because sometimes life or experiences can only be expressed through song, music, lyrics. It’s sort of autotelic, in a self-sufficient, internally driven form. The band is heavily influenced mainly by D.C. punk and hardcore, while shooting forth rays into many genres by acting completely independent, musically and politically. The result is music both surprising and overwhelming.
The Antikaroshi was established in this same self-motivated manner free of external influence. Call it destiny. Call it aspiration. But don’t call it convention. The three-piece hailing from Potsdam, Germany is the antithesis to convention. You cannot constrain or pigeon-hole what is happening here. On the other hand, they are simultaneously part of and inseparable from the environment that has created and influenced their music. Style-mixture is left over for others to define. What happens in their music is an organic amalgamation – they furrow, trench, delve and breathe through whatever calls to express their music. Classifications such as jazz, electronica, noise, or post-rock are too constraining.
“Extract.Transform.Debase” was recorded, mixed, and mastered in the Autumn of 2020 at Blockhausstudio and ChaosAudioProd Basement by Nikolaus Schwab. Joining Christoph Hennig (vocals, guitar, electronics), Dirk Hoffman (vocals, bass, electronics), and Andre Pautz (drums), the record features guest piano and vocals from Marco Henschke and cello from Mette Wätzel on “Set Your Reminder” and vocals from Tonia Reeh on “Spitting Image”. The captivating cover artwork was created by Matt Irwin (A Whisper In The Noise, Wive).
With eight buoyant and expansive songs spanning forty-five minutes, The Antikaroshi once again delivers an entertaining album seemingly custom-fit for fans of Fugazi, Unwound, Drive Like Jehu, Quicksand, Lungfish, and Exile On Mainstream labelmates Dÿse, We Insist!, Bulbul, and Beehoover
See a brief teaser for The Antikaroshi’s “Extract.Transform.Debase” below.
Exile On Mainstream will release “Extract.Transform.Debase” on April 23rd, 2021, on 180-gram 12” black virgin vinyl with a bundled CD and digitally. Find physical preorders click here and iTunes preorders here.
1. Jaded
2. Constitution Shall Not
3. Chin Chin
4. Benczik
5. Spitting Image
6. Requiem for R. S.
7. Hey You
8. Set Your Reminder
Christoph Hennig – Vocals, guitar, electronics
Dirk Hoffman – Vocals, bass, electronics
Andre Pautz – Drums