Project Mama Earth to release debut EP “Mama Earth” on November 10th 2017

Project Mama Earth Mama Earth EP cover
Preparation is overrated. Impulse is everything. Such was the rebellious wisdom that drove the sessions for Project Mama Earth’s astonishing debut EP. In June 2017, five world-renowned musicians met in Devon England for a high-wire act unique in modern music.

They had no songs. No chord charts. No game plan. No safety net. Nothing, in fact, but a plan to play and catch the sparks.

The all-star Project Mama Earth lineup of Joss Stone (vocals), Nitin Sawhney (guitar), Jonathan Joseph (drums), Étienne M'Bappé (bass/guitar) and Jonathan Shorten (keyboards) will release their debut EP “Mama Earth” on November 10th, 2017, on Mascot/Provogue.

The project started when British soul singer Joss Stone and her former musical director Jonathan Joseph hit on the “Mama Earth” concept of an album driven by the dynamic rhythms of Africa. A band was assembled from all corners of the music world. Jonathan's compadre Étienne M'Bappé, the dazzling Cameroon-born multi-instrumentalist whose résumé spans from John McLaughlin to Robben Ford; Jonathan Shorten, who had produced much of Stone's studio catalogue between penning some of the biggest hits for acts including Gabrielle and (again) Joss Stone. Finally, there was Nitin Sawhney, the genre-slipping wildcard and one-man musical tidal wave whose collaborations take in Sting, Paul McCartney and the London Symphony Orchestra.

The 5 musicians convened at Stone's house, where the musical squad didn't take long to feel each other out. Music was spontaneously written on the spot, without any preparation. In the meantime, Stone purposefully kept her own creative process separate from the four musicians. So it was, like, “You guys do you, and I'll do me – then we'll put it together”. And that's the way it worked. I also went down to the river on my own with a pen and paper and write in the grass by the river. Which was a good way to do it, actually, The whole project is about Mother Nature. It's supposed to be from her perspective.

Just ten days after they came together – and following a powerful co-production from all five band members – the “Mama Earth” sessions were over. “I guess this album is essentially how I think of music”, considers Sawhney. “It was all about being open to the moment. I think that's really what I loved about this project. To me, Mama Earth is what music should be about, really...”

1. Mama Earth
2. Interlude 1
3. Waterfall
4. Interlude 2
5. Spring
6. Interlude 3
7. What Would She Say?
8. Interlude 4
9. Entanglement
10. Interlude 5
11. Breathe

Project Mama Earth is available to pre-order, here, from the MLG store on CD, Vinyl and as a limited edition T-shirt bundle. Free poster, while stocks last!