Malacoda to release new EP “Crawling Chaos” on April 2nd 2021

Malacoda Crawling Chaos EP cover
Malacoda announces the April 2nd, 2021, release for their next EP, “Crawling Chaos”, independently. The first single “Crawling Chaos” will hit all streaming services on February 5th, 2021.

“Crawling Chaos” is the band’s first new release since 2018’s “Restless Dreams” and is a return to the band’s more cinematic and gothic roots as heard on “Ritual is Aeterna” (2016), as well as a deeper exploration of melodic vocal hooks as heard on their self-titled debut (2014).

In the summer of 2019 the band formed a new live lineup and embarked on a small tour around Ontario, including a final show at Toronto’s legendary Rockpile venue before heading into the studio.

With music described as “dark, foreboding and with lyrics to enjoy as well as unsettle” (Powerplay Mag UK) being a constant in the band’s sound, the next step would be to write a follow up to “Restless Dreams”. While looking for a drummer, the band recorded throughout the rest of 2019/2020 with friends behind the drum kit.

1. Crawling Chaos
2. Deadlights
3. From the Depths (feat. James Delbridge)
4. The Harsh Law

• “Crawling Chaos” recorded and mixed by Lucas Di Mascio at Old Haunt Recording Studio in the Winter 2019 - Spring 2020
• Mastered by Dan Dubois at Schematic Sound in the summer of 2020.
• Guest vocals on “From the Depths” - James Delbridge (Lycanthro)
• Guest Vocals on “Crawling Chaos” & “The Harsh Law” - Beth Wilson
• Drums on “Crawling Chaos” and “Deadlights” - Victor Boechat
• Drums on “From the Depths” and “The Harsh Law” - Elie Bertrand. (Scarlet Sins)