Korn to release new album “The Serenity of Suffering” on October 21st 2016

Korn The Serenity of Suffering cover
Following great anticipation, Korn – one of the most influential rock bands of modern times – today (July 22) have announced their 12th studio album, “The Serenity of Suffering”.

Produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones, Mastodon), the album will be released on October 21st, 2016 and features a special guest appearance from Corey Taylor of Slipknot. It marks the band’s welcomed return to Roadrunner Records who previously released 2010’s Korn “III – Remember Who You Are” and 2011’s “The Path of Totality”.

Korn – Jonathan Davis (vocals), James “Munky” Shaffer (guitar), Brian “Head” Welch (guitar), Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu (bass) and Ray Luzier (drums) – performed the first single “Rotting in Vain” in front of 25,000 people during a thunderous set at Chicago’s Open Air festival this past Saturday, July 16th. Today, fans everywhere can tune in as the song is officially released alongside its video with the launch of the album’s pre-order here.

"Rotting in Vain" was written about being in that black place, being in situations that I don’t like in life–be it relationships, or feeling when you’re stuck and you’re just being abused or you don’t like where you’re at, and you just sit there and rot”, shares Jonathan Davis. “It takes you years and years to figure out how to claw your way out. That’s where "Rotting in Vain" came from. I’m just sitting there, fucking dying and letting it happen for years and years and not helping myself to get out of that place. That’s the vibe that inspired the song”.

“Rotting in Vain”’s macabre video captures the essence of the song. Starring “Sons of Anarchy” actor Tommy Flanagan along with Korn, the video taps into the dark underbelly of a bizarre world. View the video - lensed by famed rock video director Dean Karr below.

01. Insane
02. Rotting in Vain
03. Black is the Soul
04. The Hating
05. A Different World (feat. Corey Taylor)
06. Take Me
07. Everything Falls Apart
08. Die Yet Another Night
09. When You’re Not There
10. Next in Line
11. Please Come for Me