Jetty Bones to release full-length debut album “Push Back” on February 26th 2021

Jetty Bones Push Back cover
Singer, multi-instrumentalist, and producer Jetty Bones (aka Kelc Galluzzo) has announced her debut LP “Push Back” – due out on February 26th, 2021, via Rise Records. 

With songs that dart between alt-pop confection, indie rock jolt, acoustic melancholy, and even a stomp-and-clap bluegrass romp, Galluzzo worked alongside producer and mixer John Fields (Jonas Brothers, Demi Lovato, Miley Cyrus) to fully realize a set of bedroom recordings she had mapped out in 2019. “I started focused on my mental health, followed my own medicine, practiced what I preached, and actually took care of my brain. This record is more definitive of the project, because I was intentional with it. I worked through everything”, says Galluzzo.

News of the debut LP comes with release of new single “That’s All” – stream here – and the 80’s-tinged music video directed by Lindsey Byrnes (Hayley Williams, Tegan and Sara) and Dani Okon (Sarah Jaffe, Morgxn) – watch it below.

“"That’s All" is about pushing to find healthy means of communications for a relationship that you’re truly invested in bettering. How far can we go before that process turns into a conflict instead of a conversation? Whether it’s a romantic relationship, a platonic one, or even one that exists within yourself - sometimes we all struggle to find that line. If it’s external, is your push pulling someone else from their comfort zone? If you’re at conflict with yourself, how can you really pick a side? The music video tends to the latter by romanticizing self-love in a dinner scene. Maybe if we learned to show ourselves the same empathy, compassion and understanding that we offer to the people we love, then we could get a little closer to truly loving ourselves too”, comments Kelc Galluzzo.

“That’s All” follows previously released album track “Taking Up Space”, which the LA Times featured as one of their “50 best songs of 2020”, noting “In a year overflowing with strong work by young women in indie rock, this up-and-coming act from small-town Ohio, led by Kelc Galluzzo, cut through with a searingly plaintive song about imposter syndrome”.

The eleven songs on “Push Back” document Galluzzo’s wrestle between two selves: the one on stage espousing hope and love, and the one in the van after the show crying helplessly, living with depression, anxiety, impostor syndrome, and suicidal ideations. The record tracks Galluzzo’s reckoning with these two selves, willing them to meet in a permanent ceasefire where they can coexist. Not following a traditional trajectory of hopeless to whole; the album trails deeper and deeper into the conflict between these two personas until they meet on serene closer “Bug Life”, which Galluzzo wrote as a suicide note five years ago. A fateful phone call interrupted the writing of the note, which appears in the album art.

When asked about the album as a body of work, Galluzzo discloses: “I wanted to humanize myself as a person who really struggles with things, who absolutely does not have my shit together but is still trying really hard”.

Pre-order & pre-save “Push Back” here.

1. Waking Up Crying
2. Nothing
3. That’s All
4. Everything
5. Taking Up Space
6. Ravine
7. Waking Up Exhausted
8. Bad Time [feat. Eric Egan] (Heart Attack Man)
9. Dolly
10. Bad Trick
11. Bug Life