Hemina to release new studio album “Night Echoes” on August 9th 2019

Hemina Night Echoes cover
Australian progressive metal quartet Hemina have announced further details of their upcoming fourth studio album “Night Echoes”, which will release in full on August 9th, 2019.

Hemina’s fourth studio release will provide the latest instalment in an extensive, episodic concept arc that has unravelled across the band’s previous studio albums; “Synthetic” (2011), “Nebulae” (2014) and “Venus” (2016).

Though each album tells a story in it’s own right, a far more expansive tale of love, loss and deep emotional struggle lies in-between the lines of each song’s lyrical content. The band recently released the first taste of their upcoming studio album in the form of the “VHS retro”, 80s-inspired video single “We Will”.

Watch the video for “We Will” below.

Pre-order the album here.

1. The Only Way
2. What’s the Catch
3. We Will
4. One Short
5. Flat
6. Everything Unsaid
7. Nostalgia
8. In Technicolour
9. Flicker

The concept of “Night Echoes” reintroduces the son born to the protagonist of their 2011 debut “Synthetic”, following the son’s journey approximately 10 years after his father’s suicide. Despite his best efforts, the central character of “Night Echoes” appears to be retreading the emotional footsteps of his deceased father, fumbling to keep hold of the shattered pieces of a life that has been made for him against his will.
On the impending release of their upcoming album, band vocalist and guitarist Mitch Coull expresses a level of excitement felt across each Hemina’s four members:
“You could say this album is a decade in the making; A culmination of all our efforts, both individually and collectively. The song writing, the hours of practise to develop techniques that would lead to particular riffs, lead passages or chord progressions, the rhythms and harmonies we’ve crafted over the past decade have all led to this one moment in time... which is the release of "Night Echoes"”.

“Although this album is very Hemina, we are treading new waters adding new elements to our sound”, Mitch continues, explaining the musical content fans and newcomers can expect from the band’s fourth release. “80s synth soundscapes, 90s soul and pop… we’ve added so much, while keeping close to our fundamental sound - grooving metal with monster melodies, harmonies and syncopated riffage. It’s somewhat a departure from "Venus", but at the very essence of it all, the grooving, prog-metal heart is still beating underneath. I can’t wait for this album to infect the ears of our fans and the public. I am proud of the achievements we have made as a band and I’m humbled by the journey that has lead us here”.

You can purchase and stream Hemina’s previous studio albums via iTunes and Spotify. “Night Echoes” will be available to purchase on August 9th, 2019.

Hemina are a 4 piece Progressive Metal band from Sydney, Australia. The band’s sound has been described as a unique combination of hard hitting syncopated grooves, lush synth backwashes, multi-part vocal harmonies, blistering memorable leads with a focus on songwriting and emotion.

The band have supported international bands Uriah Heep, Kamelot, Apocalyptica, Queensryche and are opening for Haken on the Sydney leg of their Vector world tour. They have shared the stage with Aussie legends Caligula’s Horse, Chaos Divine, Voyager, Twelve Foot Ninja, Divine Ascension, Breaking Orbit among many others and simply live for the stage.

Hemina’s first three albums “Synthetic”, “Nebulae” and “Venus” were met with critical acclaim traversing many different sides of the band’s sonic spectrum from the complex and dark, to the immediate and uplifting. The release of “Venus” saw Hemina taking their music overseas culminating in performances at Progpower Europe (Netherlands) and Euroblast (Germany).

The band’s fourth album “Night Echoes” is their most collaborative work to date, offering the eclectic flavours of what fans have come to expect in the past, as well as a new palette and range of emotional expression never before heard from the group. “Night Echoes” is Hemina at their most emotional and melodic without ignoring the aggressive and venomous side that keeps the music in balance. With a powerful modern production and mix crafted by Skene at Ploughman Studios with audiophile mastering from Ermin Hamidovic at Systematic Productions (Periphery, Devin Townsend, Plini, Architects) – their upcoming studio album shows Hemina at their best yet.

Douglas Skene - Vocals, Guitars and Keyboards
Mitch Coull - Guitars and Vocals
Jessica Martin - Bass and Vocals
Nathan McMahon - Drums, Percussion and Vocals