Déluge to release new studio album “Ægo Templo” on November 6th 2020

Déluge Ægo Templo cover
On November 6th, 2020, France’s Déluge will release their sophomore album, “Ægo Templo”, via Metal Blade Records.

Check out the lyric video for the new single “Opprobre” below.

Pre-order “Ægo Templo” here, in the following formats:
• digipak-CD
• 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
• blue / white / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
• white vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
• gold / black dust vinyl (Kings Road exclusive - limited to 100 copies)
• gold vinyl (US exclusive)

France has long been a fertile breeding ground for black metal, and one of its best kept secrets is Déluge, who have been kicking up a blend of that genre and post-hardcore since 2014. Dropping their debut full-length “Æther” in 2015, in 2020 they return with sophomore effort “Ægo Templo”, a more accessible record that pushes their sound in ever more imaginative directions.

“I wanted to go further into something more "easy to listen to", but I really did not want to lose what we had, that melancholia and the essence of our music”, states founding guitarist François-Thibaut Hordé. “It was a very interesting - and exhausting - challenge, and to me we have succeeded. We are really proud of this new record”.

Produced by François-Thibaut with assistance from engineers Thibault Chaumont / Deviant Lab studio (Igorrr, Carpenter Brut, Birds in Row) - who also mixed and mastered the album - and Amaury Sauvé / The Apiary studio, who recorded the drums, “Ægo Templo” marks a bold step forward from their earlier recorded output. Featuring clean vocals on almost every track, keyboards and additional instruments on several songs, plus soprano saxophone on “Opprobre”, this new offering separates Déluge from their contemporaries, all the while maintaining their identity.

The band also turned to Valnoir from Metastazis Studio in Paris to once again design their artwork, and they asked several artists to guest on the record: Tetsuya Fukagawa of Japanese Screamo legends Envy adds vocals to “Gloire Au Silence”; Matthieu Metzger provides saxophone on “Opprobre”; and Hélène Muesser contributes vocals on “Abysses”, “Ægo Templo” and “Digue” - all helping to add further depths to the music.

1. Soufre
2. Opprobre
3. Abysses
4. Fratres
5. Gloire Au Silence
6. Ægo Templo
7. Baïne
8. Digue
9. Béryl
10. Vers

Even in these uncertain times, what comes next for Déluge is clear - their goals are undeniable: “We want to be touring as much as we can, spreading our bright music as much as we can, and going much further than the metal scene can offer us”.

After “Ægo Templo”’s release, Déluge will head out on the road with label-mates Igorrr for a tour of France and Switzerland in December. See below for all dates!

France Tour Dates 2020:
Dec. 4 - Rock School Barbey - Bordeaux, France
Dec. 5 - La Nef - Angouleme, France
Dec. 6 - CCM John Lennon - Limoges, France
Dec. 8 - CCO - Lyon, France
Dec. 9 - Espace Malraux - Six-Fours-Les-Plages, France
Dec. 10 - Post Tenebras Rock - Geneva, Switzerland
Dec. 11 - La Cooperative De Mai - Clermont Ferrand, France
Dec. 12 - Le Silex - Auxerre, France
Dec. 13 - La Bam - Metz, France
Dec. 15 - Theatre de Bethune - Bethune, France
Dec. 16 - Le 106 - Rouen, France
Dec. 17 - Big Band Café - Caen, France
Dec. 18 - La Clef - St. Germain En Laye, France
Dec. 19 - File 7 - Magny Le Hongre, France