Articulus to release debut album “I” on November 1st 2019

Articulus I cover
Norwegian melancholic progressive metal band Articulus have set November 1st, 2019, as the release date for their debut album simply titled “I”.

The album is a gargantuan creative undertaking and has been years in the making. In addition to the extensive instrumentation performed by the duo of Erling Malm and Chris Willumsen themselves, the album features an inspired drum performance by none other than Dirk Verbeuren of Megadeth. The lyrical themes are rooted in world history and a deep appreciation for art and the classical antiquity.

The album features an immersive visual arts concept with cover art and individual drawings for each song created by Spanish artist Francisco Solé, who also created the haunting artwork featured in the Hollywood movie “The Ninth Gate”.

The album will be released on the bands own label Etymology Recordings, and will be available on double gatefold 12 inch vinyl, digipak CD and a very limited deluxe double cassette boxed set, as well as on all digital platforms.

The album is recorded and mixed by Articulus and mastered by George Tanderø @ George Tanderø Mastering. Layout and pre-print by Jonas Nilsson. Photography by A Desirée Spirdal-Jacobsen Mendoza.

Pre-order the album here.

1. The Bonfire of the Vanities
2. Beneath the Veneer
3. The Unconfined
4. Absinthe
5. And Velvet became Iron
6. Mutiny
7. The Smouldering Ember
8. Pulse of the Earth
9. Letter from Rome, 1610
10. The last
11. A Fair Intruder
12. An Asp unto my Breast

Articulus has also released a lyric video for their first single “The Bonfire of the Vanities” - watch it below.