Ruff Majik to release new studio album “The Devil’s Cattle” on October 30th 2020

Ruff Majik The Devil’s Cattle cover
Set to surface from the pits of Hell with their third studio album “The Devil’s Cattle”, South African sludge ‘n’ roll outfit Ruff Majik have released further details of their forthcoming record - their first release under new label Mongrel Records - ahead of a performance at this year’s SonicBlast Fest streaming event, here.

Originally formed in 2012 a three piece (Guitarist/vocalist Johni Holiday, bassist Jimmy Glass and drummer Ben Manchino, Ruff Majik released their debut EP “The Bear” in 2015, recording the EP in its entirety with just two mics and a garage studio - a true, distorted testament to the “Ruff” ethos of the band’s music.

2016 through to 2018 saw the release of a number of EPs and two albums, including 2016 fan favourite “Wax Wizard” and 2018’s “Tårn”. 2020’s “The Devil’s Cattle” was written and recorded at a time when the world was on the brink of disaster, and the band have now shared the album’s artwork and full track list ahead of its 30th October release date.

Taking place over the weekend of 13-15th August, Ruff Majik will hit the SonicBlast festival stage at 17:30hrs (BST) (18:30hrs CET) on Saturday 14th August.

On their upcoming performance, Ruff Majik vocalist Johnni Holiday comments:
“We’ve all been through a wild time recently - and we decided the only way to feel semi-normal would be to make some music together. So on the 25th of July we got together in a big room to play songs from our new album. We recorded the session with some good friends of ours, and the resulting live video will be aired by Sonic Blast Fest this weekend”.

Drawing first blood with a riotous, dusty and distorted video single, “Who Keeps Score” brought the first offering from Ruff Majik’s upcoming album, and was featured in Classic Rock Magazine’s Tracks Of The Week feature upon release. Watch the video below. Stream and download “Who Keeps Score” here.

Out on October 30th, 2020, “The Devil’s Cattle” is feel-good music, born of the apocalypse and made to shake your hips to.

1. All You Need is Speed
2. Swine Tooth Grin
3. Shrug of the Year
4. Heart Like An Alligator
5. Gregory
6. The Devil’s Cattle
7. Jolly Rodger
8. Who Keeps Score
9. Lead Pills and Thrills
10. Trading Blows
11. Born to Be Bile
12. God Knows
13. Hymn #5

Johni Holliday - Guitar, vocals
Cowboy Van - Guitar, bass, backing vocals, keys, harmonica
Jimmy Glass - Bass, guitar
Evert Snyman - Guitar, vocals, keys, percussion
Benni Manchino - Drums, percussion