Gorilla Riot to release new EP “Solace” on September 6th 2021

Gorilla Riot Solace EP cover
Manchester’s dirty rock n blues mavericks, Gorilla Riot are delighted to announce a new single, “Drowned”, out today (July 19th, 2021) across all download and streaming platforms. Watch the official video below.

Drowned is the first song taken from their 4-track acoustic EP, “Solace”, which is released week commencing on September 6th, 2021. “Solace” is available in Digital & CD digipak formats and can be ordered here.

GR frontman, Arjun Bhishma, said: “"Solace" began as a solo project for me, as they are four very personal songs that I didn’t think would fit with the band. However, the boys liked the songs and, as always, took them to a level that I could never have imagined, bringing more nuance, texture and meaning to each song.

Drowned is a song about suicide and depression. There are specific references to my own life and personal situations, but in general it’s a song that has no silver lining, and I felt that in order to be true and representative of my feelings, that’s how it needed to be.

The layered vocals are there to hopefully bring a church/gospel flavour to the song, lifting what is a lyrically dark song”.

Gorilla Riot are a 5-piece dirty rock n’ roll blues machine from Manchester, England. Equally at home acoustically or electrically they use a 3-prong guitar attack with multi-part vocal harmonies; they play raucous blues-based rock, combining elements of grunge, stoner, and country to create a full-on high energy experience.

Mainman, Arjun Bhishma, surrounded himself with the best talent in Manchester to form Gorilla Riot. Arjun, is joined by Liam Henry (guitars & vocals), Charly T. (guitars & vocals), Deggy (bass), and Will Lewis on skins.

They toured extensively before the pandemic with headline shows in Spain and France, and then across the UK with Australian rockers, Massive before joining the Planet Rock Roadstars tour with Piston and Hannah Wicklund. They performed a sold-out launch show at Rebellion in Manchester in February 2020 for their album “Peach” but were then forced to cancel their album tour due to the countrywide lockdown.  

Along with the release of “Peach”, Gorillia Riot had their song, “Bad Son”, included on the vinyl chart-topping “Earache presents New Wave Of Rock N Roll” compilation album.

They release “Solace” ahead of entering the studio to record their next full album.

1. Drowned
2. Sometime Birds Never Fly
3. Talk Back
4. Late That Year