Burial In The Sky to release new studio album “The Consumed Self” on August 13th 2021

Burial In The Sky The Consumed Self cover
Established progressive/technical death metal outfit Burial In The Sky is excited to announce the upcoming release of their third album, “The Consumed Self”. Out on August 13th, 2021, via Rising Nemesis Records. It is the follow-up to the group’s well-received 2018 sophomore album, “Creatio et Hominus”.

Acclaimed visual artist Justin Abraham (Equipoise, Dessiderium, Inanimate Existence) was tapped to create the epic cover art for “The Consumed Self”. The album was produced, engineered, and mastered by Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland at Atrium Audio known for their work with Rivers of Nihil, August Burns Red, and Black Crown Initiate. 

Active since 2013, the Philadelphia-based group has kept a steady pace on record and live over the years. With each new release, refining and expanding their wide-ranging take on progressive/technical death metal. This time around, the addition of new second guitarist Brad Hettinger, further contributions around from several members, and an impressive array of eclectic guest musician spots help elevate “The Consumed Self” into the group’s finest hour yet.

“The Consumed Self” continues Burial In The Sky’s signature brand of atmospheric and often ethereal brand of technical/progressive death metal while pushing both their aggressive and cerebral centers of focus toward dazzling new heights. Making for an album that delivers on multiple fronts and has something to offer something for almost any death metal fan’s tastes. Burial In The Sky - The Consumed Self is sure to be counted among the best albums of the year for progressive death metal. 

The album will strongly appeal to fans of bands such as Black Crown Initiate, Fallujah, Rivers Of Nihil, Alustrium, and Virvum. 
To kick off today’s release announcement with a bang, the band is excited to launch “An Orphaned City”. The first single from “The Consumed Self”. Watch the video for “An Orphaned City” below.

Band Statement regarding “The Consumed Self”:
“"The Consumed Self" is inspired by some of the great dystopian fantasies of the past. We wanted to create a world that felt real and tangible. With that, the music had to be digestible and convey a wide array of emotions. This took a lot of growth for us to accomplish. We had to become better musicians and storytellers to create "The Consumed Self".”

Pre-orders in CD, digital, and vinyl format (plus bundles) will be live soon in the coming weeks. Stay tuned for more information

1. The Soft Violet Light
2. An Orphaned City
3. On Wings of Providence
4. Amaurosis Shroud
5. Wayfarer
6. Mechanisms of Loneliness
7. Mountains Pt.1: To Ascend
8. Mountains Pt.2: Empathy
9. Caught In The Azure Cradle
10. Anatomy of Us

Sam Stewart - Drums, Aux Percussion, Synth
Zach Strouse - Bass, Saxophone, Vocals (Sax for Rivers of Nihil)
Jorel Hart - Vocals (ex-Cognitive)
James Tomedi - Guitars, Mandolin, Accordion, Synth, Vocals
Brad Hettinger - Guitar, Vocals