TheCityIsOurs to release new studio album “Coma” on October 22nd 2021

TheCityIsOurs Coma cover
Following the release of the powerfully cathartic “Violent” and the introduction of new vocalist Oli Duncanson, TheCityIsOurs announce their highly anticipated new album with its title-track “Coma” out now. The album is set for release on October 22nd, 2021, via Arising Empire.

There is a palpable sense of loss that ties together the band’s sophomore offering. TCIO tackles the passing of loved ones, relationships, even personal sovereignty, and self-control head-on. However, juxtaposed against their vibrant and fresh feeling, pop-centric arrangements, expertly interwoven with infectious hooks and crushing riffs; “Coma” breathes a perfect balance, radiating an underlying sense of positivity and resilience through an otherwise dark concept.

“"Coma" is an honest account of how I was feeling trying to understand why I was spiraling into a void”, expresses TCIO founding member Mikey Page. “I wrote the song as a method of coping and catharsis. It embodies a period of self-loathing where, the love I had, no matter how strong, was not enough to save an important relationship”, Page recounts. “I wanted to produce an honest account, showing that it's okay to be vulnerable, and to encourage others to speak up and take positive action instead of internalising them and struggling alone”.

Watch the video for new single “Coma” below.

Coma” will be available as CD and special limited coloured vinyl! Pre-order “Coma” here.
01. Does It Keep You Up?
02. COMA
03. Death Of Me
04. Violent
05. Regrets About Me
06. Dangerous
07. So Sad
08. Body Count
09. Only Human
10. Madre
11. Barely Alive
12. Save You With My Love
“Coma” was recorded, engineered, and mixed by long-time collaborator Oz Craggs (Feed The Rhino, Neck Deep, Mallory Knox) at Hidden Track Studios and mastered by Ermin Hamidovic (Architects, Periphery, Northlane) at Systematic Productions.
Following the departure of long-standing vocalist Sam Stolliday (full statement here), the band unexpectedly found themselves in unknown territory. 12 months on, they are back with the introduction of new vocalist Oli Duncanson and ready to welcome a brand new era of TCIO. Oli recounts: “I remember being shown some demos of some new songs prior to Sam’s departure and absolutely loving the direction and progression of the band’s sound... so as soon as Mikey told me about the opening in the band, I knew I had to take a chance”! Page adds: “Oli has been a part of our team for a long time. He is a very well respected entity in his own right amongst the music scene. We’d seen snippets of his capabilities over the years, so when he registered an interest in becoming a part of CITY, we knew we had to explore... and we clicked instantly”.
TheCityIsOurs is a 5-piece metal band from London who has quickly garnered attention and growing support for peers, industry, and fans alike, with their high-octane live show and the success of their debut album. “Low” (2019) smashed into the top 5 iTunes metal charts with several singles appearing in editorial playlists with the likes of Amazon, Deezer, and Spotify (Including 2 covers on New Core and Metal UK) supporting the band.
2019 was a very busy year for TCIO, with appearances at a slew of UK festivals including Camden Rocks, Macmillan Fest, Burn It Down, Holloween, a fly in appearance at High Fives Festival in Sweden, a headline set in the Doghouse Tent at the revered Download Festival to a 4000+ audience of festival-goers, and a sold-out album release show at Boston Music Rooms in London. Be sure to keep an eye on TheCityIsOurs in 2021.

Oli Duncanson - Vocals
Mikey Page - Vocals / Guitar
Jamie Deeks - Bass
Stuart Mercer - Guitar
Louis Giannamore - Drums