Terra to release debut album “Hypercube” on November 19th 2021

Terra Hypercube cover
Brazilian multi-instrumentalist Lucas Barbosa will be releasing his studio project Terra and its debut album “Hypercube” on November 19th, 2021, via Rockshots Records.

Today, the first single “Let It Burn” is revealed with a music video - watch it below.

Barbosa comments:
“"Let it Burn" kicks off this journey with a powerful message about how many times in life things happen so fast we don’t have time to react nor to prepare for what is to come, forcing us to learn the hard way how to deal with each situation, or as the song says, "if this the way I learn, let it burn". This intensity naturally reflects in the overwhelming weight of the composition, with its galloping rhythmics and very powerful melodies, broken times and constant changes of groove-driven, led by a resounding and intricate kitchen, which conveys the feeling of a real roller coaster of events. Most likely due to the fact this is the opening track, "Let it Burn" is a slightly more straightforward song, with less obvious elements than other tracks in this album, but, still, it is a very complex song, without giving up the arrangement balance”.

Terra is a musical, audiovisual and artistic experience that translates the personality and experiences of Brazilian composer and multi-instrumentalist Lucas Barbosa, resulting in a musical journey for those who love music and adventure.

“The idea of Terra was always there, I believe. I have been composing and writing songs since I was 15. I needed a platform to structure and back these songs. This platform should allow me to combine some passions of mine: folk and metal music, traveling and photography. When I was around 20, I came up with the concept of Terra, a project that would combine all the influences that made the musician and the person I am, in an organic manner, which would allow me to tell my stories of discoveries and exploration, including my experiences traveling through Brazil and throughout the world. It took about 10 years to actually find the environment and opportunity to bring this idea to life by recording Hypercube and kick-starting this journey”, comments Barbosa.

Terra’s first record is the outcome of the combination of elements put together to tell a story of a journey of growth and self-discovery, that frankly, could be the tale of every human being at some point in their lives. There are ten songs to paint a picture of the artist’s personality and explore each step of the way with the respective deserved depth. Although heavy metal is the glue that unites all the musical nuances presented on this album, “Hypercube” does not shy away from a rich range of influences such as American Bluegrass, Country Music, Classic Rock, Classical Music, Western Folk, traditional Brazilian, Caipira and Sertanejo music along with passages of Samba, Capoeira, Bossa Nova and many others to convey its message. Lucas Barbosa was responsible for playing almost all instruments, including rhythm and lead guitars in all their forms (electric, classical, 6 string, 12 string), bass, Brazilian guitar (or Viola Caipira), Andean guitar (or Charango), Pan flute (Andean flute), Thai bong, harmonica, castanets, moringa, whistle, piano and percussions, in addition to singing all the songs.

Pre-order “Hypercube” here and pre-save it here.

1. Let It Burn (4:18)
2. Always Resist (4:35)
3. Sign My Name (6:31)
4. Down the Road (4:03)
5. Shivers and Snow (4:56)
6. Sound of Rain (5:45)
7. Against the Wind (10:29)
8. Montaria (9:49)
9. Hypercube (8:54)
10. Our Time is Now (6:19)

Album Credits:
All songs & Lyrics written by Lucas Barbosa
All Instruments, except drums, played by Lucas Barbosa, including Vocals, Guitars, Bass guitars, 6-string and 12-string Acoustic Guitars, Brazilian Guitar, Andean Guitar, Pan Flutes, Harmonicas, Piano and Percussions
Drums recorded by Alex Cristopher
Produced, Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Thiago Bianchi at Fusão Studios in São Paulo, Brazil.
Cover art Concept by Lucas Barbosa
Art by Carlos Fidelis