Louise Patricia Crane to release debut album “Deep Blue” on May 15th 2020

Louise Patricia Crane Deep Blue cover
“Deity” is the debut single from vocalist and songwriter Louise Patricia Crane and transports the listener into an alternate world where “Dear Prudence” was tracked in the “White Album” sessions; a twilight place where the veil between life and death is at its thinnest, and the baroque sounds of 1980s avant-garde dream pop and guitar-driven 1970s progressive rock are natural bedfellows.

Supported by a groove laid down by producer and multi-instrumentalist Stephen Carey on guitars & bass and Simon Rippin on drums, the sublime dreamscape of “Deity” also features the lavish, multi-layered backing vocal of King Crimson singer Jakko Jakszyk, serving to underpin Crane’s dark, sultry melody lines with a psych-infused Beach Boys-esque harmony and conspires with her to summon up her Haight Ashbury via The Renaissance conjurations.

Watch the video for “Deity” below. Download the new single here.

Realised by the Cambridgeshire production team Full Moon Media, the video for “Deity” takes influence from Jaromil Jireš’ 1970 surrealist horror film Valerie and her Week of Wonders and evokes an etherial forever-summer dreamscape where magick, nature and sensual occult undertones bewitch and beguile.  

The debut album “Deep Blue” will be released on May 15th, 2020, and features collaborations with an assemblage of extraordinary musicians from the worlds of Rock and Progressive Rock.

Pre-order “Deep Blue” on LP, CD and Digital formats, here.

1. Deity
2. Snake Oil
3. Painted World
4. Cascading
5. Deep Blue
6. Ophelia
7. Isolde
8. The Eve of the Hunter

It was Summer of 2017 when Louise Patricia Crane wrote the song that would become the title track of her debut solo album, “Deep Blue”. Having written and recorded with The Eden House the previous year, Louise relocated to Cambridge to begin working with musician and producer Stephen Carey at his Stanton Manor studio. With a shared vision to create something beautiful and unique in music, the two set about working together.

What transpired from these writing sessions is an inspired and provocative work, drawing upon Louise’s expansive musical and artistic influences -  from guitar-driven 70s progressive rock and blues, the baroque sounds of 80s avant-garde dream pop - to rich, lyrical imagery drawn from literature, surrealist horror films of the 60s and 70s, tragic historical seductresses and dreamlike themes of escapism. 

In early 2019 writing and recording continued and Louise brought King Crimson guitarist and frontman Jakko Jakszyk on board to collaborate, providing his distinctive guitar sound and stunning multi-track vocal harmonies on a number of songs throughout the album.

It was then that the legendary Danny Thompson (Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel) would collaborate, the unmistakable sound of his upright bass a fitting end on the closing track of the album, “The Eve of the Hunter”.

The assemblage of extraordinary musicians would continue with renowned bass player Scott Reeder (Kyuss) joining the ranks, further enhancing the soundscape on “Deep Blue”, alongside the faultless rhythm section provided on a number of songs by drummer Simon Rippin and bass player Steve Mercy.

The striking cover image is a portrait photograph by the legendary Irish artist, Jim Fitzpatrick