Hangatyr to release new studio album “kalt” on March 2nd 2020

Hangatyr kalt cover
When the fellows launched Hangatyr in Spring 2006, the stylistic direction of the idealists from Saxony and Central Thuringia was immediately clear: cold, Nordic guitar riffs, paired with typical Thuringian melodies and German lyrics, inspired by the mythology that lives deep inside the creators, should shape the music.

The inspiring band name pays tribute to Odin, the father of the gods - “Hangatyr” is its epithet in the rune’s song. He sacrificed himself and hung on the world ash Yggdrasil for nine days to learn the runes. Hangatyr see the meaning behind this in that you have to give something to gain knowledge and wisdom.

In October 2019, the route once again led to Chemical Burn Studios in Bad Kösen. Together with Alexander Dietz, the new compositions were refined, which can now be heard on “kalt”: relentlessly hard-hitting, uncompromising black metal anthems, from which the eternal spirit of the old and the true proudly emerges.

For example, it is lasting impressive and close to nature to experience how fatal the fervent outbreak “Cold Ground” penetrates under the skin. Because also in terms of lyrics, those involved in the publication stand together for timeless depth - in this sense, a captivating concept was developed for “kalt”. In principle, the album is all about the oppressive cold that arises when you have to suffer painful loss.

kalt” will be released on March 2nd, 2020. The cover artwork was done by Ute Ruhmann.

01. Niedergang (06:20)
02. Entferntes Ich (06:35)
03. Firnheim (07:22)
04. Blick aus Eis (04:24)
05. Kalter Grund (06:19)
06. ...kalt (02:05)
07. Mittwinter (07:52)
08. Verweht (07:05)

“With "kalt", Hangatyr offer substantial Black Metal. Songs of pure power, inspired by darkness and spirituality, which rise so imposingly that often a real feeling of triumph arises, which in the end wants to despair of icy loneliness”, says Markus Eck.

Silvio - Vocals
Ali - Guitar
Basti - Guitar
Micha - Drums