Brave The Waters to release new studio album “Chapter II: Days of Solitude” on February 1st 2019

Brave The Waters Chapter II: Days of Solitude cover
New York, New York-based atmospheric and ambient soundscape focused duo Brave The Waters is proud to announce their second album, “Chapter II: Days of Solitude”, which will see release on February 1st, 2019.

The album is the groups follow up to their 2015 debut, “Chapter I: Dawn of Days” and 2016 standalone single, “The Overwhelming Bliss”. “Chapter II: Days of Solitude” was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Keith Moore at Audio Playground in Kinderhook, New York. Featuring beautiful cover art by acclaimed visual artist Travis Smith (Amorphis, Opeth, Strapping Young Lad, Megadeth, etc.), whom the band’s members have teamed with for years art wise in their other groups Buckshot Facelift and Grey Skies Fallen.

At its core, “Chapter II: Days of Solitude” is a musical journey informed by post-rock, improvised musicianship, ambient music, rock, and metal combined in a mercurial way. In order to create a melancholic world that speaks volumes without words. Brave The Waters consists of New York metal scene veterans Tom Anderer (2018 live bass for Artificial Brain at times) and Rick Habeeb, who’ve spent years building up musical chemistry together in groups such as doom metal outfit Grey Skies Fallen and experimental deathgrind outfit Buckshot Facelift, which is fronted by Artificial Brain vocalist Will Smith.

After playing in multiple projects together for years, the duo decided to embark on a new project in 2014 informed by their mutual love of ambient music, post-rock, and rock under the name of Brave The Waters. “Chapter II: Days of Solitude” will appeal to fans of the group’s core influences, which the band’s cite as largely being inspired by Pink Floyd, Mogwai, Anathema, Sigur Ros, and Sun Kil Moon. Like their prior works, the new album is built upon a hybrid improvised and carefully written approach that layers the duo’s talents into lush soundscapes, which mirror the feeling of winter upon us and tap into feelings of solitude, mourning, self-reflection, hope, and solace. All electric guitar was improvised by Rick Habeeb and supported by written acoustic guitar and bass from Tom Anderer with a more structured approach to the compositions this time on “Chapter II: Days of Solitude”.

You can check out an early album teaser video for “Chapter II: Days of Solitude” below.

Brave The Waters band statement regarding “Chapter II: Days of Solitude”:
“These songs are sad and somber but reveal hope in the darkest places of self-consciousness and are very thoughtful. The album tells a detailed story without words, allowing the listener to evoke the settings and characters their imagination creates from the ambient soundtrack. Artwork again is amazingly-handled by Travis Smith, and we hope to release this both in digital and physical formats”.

Stay tuned for more Brave The Waters news, early singles, pre-orders, and reviewers promos to launch in the coming weeks.

1. Endless Pursuit
2. Above the Broken Clouds
3. Written in Stone & Locked Away
4. To Be Alone
5. Transcending Horizons
6. Vague Shadows
7. Trials of the Sunken Swamp
8. Out of Nowhere
9. Maze of Winding Roads
10. Arrival at the Gates of Torment

Rick Habeeb - Improvised Electric Guitar (Buckshot Facelift, Grey Skies Fallen)
Tom Anderer - Acoustic Guitar and Bass (Buckshot Facelift, Grey Skies Fallen)