My Own Private Alaska to release new EP “Let This Rope Cross All the Lands” on March 26th 2021

My Own Private Alaska Let This Rope Cross All the Lands EP cover
After 10 years on hiatus, early 2020 seen My Own Private Alaska return to the scene with a reissue of their pathbreaking debut album, “Amen”. Now,  the “pianocore” collective from Toulouse, France, is highlighting their triumphal comeback with the release of a brand new EP!

Let This Rope Cross All the Lands”, which will be out on March 26th, 2021 via AWAL, is filled with the haunting, avantgarde post-rock and apocalypse atmospheres My Own Private Alaska is known for, but will even go way deeper.

Between the aesthetic disproportion and formal minimalism, My Own Private Alaska takes the bias of authenticity. Evoking the ghosts of Chopin and the crescendos of Envy, their music is captivating, dark and joyful at once. Architects of a fragile and imposing universe, these four musicians have marked the spirits. The fascination of this French group unfolds a unique opportunity to dig into a captivating film noir synchronizing your cardiac palpitations to the conscience of a band that defies easy labelling. During their live shows, all band members sit to play. The bass guitar is replaced by a keyboard, that takes care of the bass part, dark textures and drone landscapes. During the band’s impressive career and history, My Own Private Alaska played countless tours all over the world, including support shows for Metallica.

On their upcoming Rarities- EP “Let This Rope Cross All the Lands”, My Own Private Alaska continues to polarize while imposing its enigmatic formula, shrouded in the intensity of melancholy piano chords and cathartic screams - a sound tainted by madness, beauty and despair. “Let This Rope Cross All the Lands” comprises of five studio cuts, while the Vinyl edition will also include three live tracks. One of them, a brand new song entitled “Your Shelter”, has just been released, along with an epic live music video, filmed on the top of the mystical Mont-St-Michel-de-Brasparts in Britain! Watch My Own Private Alaska’s new clip below.

Says MOPA vocalist Matthieu Miegeville:
“We’re so excited to bring some new material to our fans! It’s been a while and we come back with a new lineup and a positive equilibrium. We are now four musicians. Still sitting. Still no guitars. A piano and a voice, as musical brothers. A synth-bass player and a new drummer have appeared.

A huge field of possibilities, a huge feeling of freedom, a huge sensation of being perfectly gathered together. You’ll feel this energy in this new song "Your Shelter", with a will of proposing something further and coherent at the same time. It’s still My Own Private Alaska and it’s also a new My Own Private Alaska.

The spectrum is wider, our sound is deeper, more modern and more subtle. You’ll discover it in the rarities EP about to be released next March 2021. It’s a patchwork record with unreleased songs, B-side versions from our times with Ross Robinson in Los Angeles, and also new audio material we’re really proud of, thanks to our new talented audio partners: Jan Kerscher (mix, Germany) and Magnus Lindberg (mastering, Cult of Luna, Sweden).

We now wait like everybody to go back onstage and share some visceral emotions with the audience!”...

“Let This Rope Cross All the Lands” is slated for a release on March 26th, 2021, and will be available as LP and Digital formats. Pre-orders are up now here!

01. Your Shelter
02. There Will Be No One
03. Red
04. Speak to Me
05. Ego Zero (b-side version)
+ Vinyl Bonus Tracks:
06. Your Shelter (Live - Wind Session)
07. Amen (Live - Wind Session)
08. Just Like You And I (Live - Wind Session)

Tristan Mocquet - Piano Keyboard
Matthieu Miegeville - Voice
Jordi Pujol - Drums
Mathieu Laciack - Bass Keyboard