Lalu to release new studio album “Paint the Sky” on January 21st 2022

Lalu Paint the Sky cover
Frontiers Music Srl is excited to announce the release of progressive metal act Lalu’s new album, “Paint the Sky” on January 21st, 2022. Lalu is a musical project originally founded in 2004 by the French composer and producer Vivien Lalu, son of Noelle and Michel Lalu (members of the 70s French progressive act Polène). “Paint the Sky” will be the first album, and third album overall from the band, released under the new partnership between Vivien and Frontiers.

“Paint the Sky” is easily the most accomplished and mature album put together by Vivien thus far in his career. Being the son of two progressive musicians from the 70s and growing up surrounded by progressive music, Vivien always wanted to craft a true-to-its-roots progressive rock album. He spent a lot of time laying down the basics for the new effort and along with this new album comes a change in vocalist specifically designed for this more progressive version of Lalu. In May 2020, Vivien announced Damian Wilson (Arena, Headspace, Threshold) as the lead vocalist for “Paint the Sky”. Lalu’s lineup on the album is rounded out by Jelly Cardarelli (on drums) and Joop Wolters (guitars and bass).

Watch the video for the first single “The Chosen Ones” (feat. Jordan Rudess & Simone Mularoni) below.

Guests on “Paint the Sky” include Alessandro Del Vecchio, Alex Argento, Gary Wehrkamp, Jens Johansson, Jordan Rudess, Marco Sfogli, Simon Phillips, Simone Mularoni, Steve Walsh, Tony Franklin, and Vikram Shankar. See tracklisting below for details on which tracks they appear on.

Pre-order “Paint the Sky” here.

1. Reset to Preset
2. Won’t Rest Until the Heat of the Earth Burns the Soles of Our Feet Down to the Bone (feat. Jens Johansson)
3. Emotionalised
4. Paint the Sky (feat. Steve Walsh, Tony Franklin, Alessandro Del Vecchio, Jens Johansson, Gary Wehrkamp)
5. Witness to the World (feat. Marco Sfogli)
6. Lost in Conversation (feat. Jens Johansson)
7. Standing at the Gates Of Hell
8. The Chosen Ones (feat. Jordan Rudess, Simone Mularoni)
9. Sweet Asylum
10. We Are Strong
11. All of the Lights (feat. Vikram Shankar)
12. Paint the Sky [Instrumental] (feat. Tony Franklin, Simon Phillips, Alex Argento)

Damian Wilson - Vocals
Jelly Cardarelli - Drums
Joop Wolters - Guitars & bass
Vivien Lalu - Keyboards