La Muerte release horrific new video for “L.S.D. for the Holy Man”

La Muerte video pic
La Muerte premiere horrific new video for new track “L.S.D. for the Holy Man”.

Watch the 80s inspired / slasher-ific new video for “L.S.D. for the Holy Man” below.

Founded in Brussels in 1983, La Muerte’s mythical reign over the Belgian Underground came to a grinding halt in 1994. Yet across those years and in the archives/subversive litanies of revered cult heroes, comparisons wherever La Muerte were concerned would fluctuate riotously. Almost as wildly in fact as the music they produced; from i-D to Sounds, Melody Maker to NME, La Muerte became best-known for peddling alternative metal and discordant noise, like an inebriated midnight melee between Motörhead, Velvet Underground, The Birthday Party and Butthole Surfers.
With the exception of the odd release here and there, for the best part of two decades; the band, their history and their legacy lay dormant. But in March 2015, La Muerte made a surprising and hugely successful return with a sold-out show at one of Brussels most historic concert halls, the Ancienne Belgique. Billed as the missing link between Salvador Dali and The Stooges, the band re-emerged with founding members Marc du Marais and Dee-J, and were joined onstage by a razor sharp intake of new blood in Michel Kirby (Arkangel, Wolvennest, Length of Time), Christian Z. (Length of Time) and Tino de Martino (Channel Zero).

Their first show in over twenty years kickstarted a run of appearances and surge in invitations to prestigious events across Belgium and beyond, and the band appeared at the likes of Roadburn Festival, Helldorado, Impetus Festival, Dour Festival, Graspop Metal Meeting, Lokerse Feesten, BSF and Desertfest in Antwerp.
At the Les Nuits du Botanique in 2016, La Muerte even curated their own headlining night and appeared as special guests beside Iggy Pop’s band at the screening of Gutterdammerung, in a second sold out show at the Ancienne Belgique.
The Popes of the Belgian Underground were very much reborn anew.
Since their return, La Muerte have issued no less than four releases; “EViL”, a 2015 live album recorded at their comeback show, two 12" EPs and most recently, a limited edition, fan-only 7" single. With the continued support of Belgian label Mottow Soundz, the band’s 2016’s Record Store Day Exclusive, “Murder Machine” EP, was the first to bear fruits from the studio with the new, revamped line-up. While 2017’s “Headhunter” EP, witnessed a reunion with faithful friends and Front 242 members, Richard 23 and Patrick Codneys.
Following a short sabbatical to work on new material and numerous side projects, this December will see the official worldwide release of La Muerte’s self-titled album. Where previous releases were restricted by the pressures of time, the band spent as much of it as possible in the studio, recording twenty-five songs before eventually culling the set down to a measured and maniacal ten.

Mastered by Alan Douches (Motorhead, Mastodon) and both mixed and enriched by the contribution of black metal specialist, Déhà, the album captures La Muerte’s sonic identity and searing live experience. Raw, heavy, authentic and aggressive, without compromise La Muerte is aural proof that Belgium’s most sulphurous band are more than just a one-night stand.
La Muerte’s self-titled album will be released on December 7th, 2018, via Mottow Soundz on special gatefold CD and LP, as well as on all digital platforms. Pre-order all versions here.

1. Crash Baby Crash
2. I was a Wreck
3. Gun in My Hand
4. Suis – Je Un Animal
5. LSD for the Holy Man
6. Welcome Tomorrow
7. Darkened Dreams
8. King Kong – Godzilla
9. Lost
10. She Did It for Lust