Anubis to release new studio album “Homeless” on March 10th 2020

Anubis Homeless cover
Australian Progressive Rock Band Anubis have revealed that their sixth studio album “Homeless” is to be released on March 10th, 2020.

To celebrate the announcement, the Marillion influenced sextet have launched a lyric video for the single “Home”.

Check out the lyric video for “Home” below.

Douglas Skene, guitarist and vocalist, says this about the single:
“Perhaps one of the hardest things to do is to leave space and not play, but "Home" is a testament to that. There are many moments where 1 or more of us left ample sonic air for someone else in the band to take the stage and just play where needed. It’s an 80s smorgasboard of chorused guitars, propulsive echo, Collins inspired megatoms and soaring stadium hooks. It totally stands on its own from anything we've done before, as do many of the other cuts from our new 9 track child”.

“Homeless” is written reflecting upon an individual’s perception of the world in 2020. From the proliferation of technology to poverty, populism to the environment, “thoughts and prayers” to enlightenment and empathy, and from passion to numbness.

Eschewing the narrative approach of its predecessor, “The Second Hand”, it takes its stylistic and lyrical cues from the band’s emotive third album “Hitchhiking to Byzantium”, whilst incorporating new colours into the band’s sound.

“Homeless” is the first Anubis album to be written specifically with the LP format in mind with two “sides” of continuous music spread over nine songs.

David Eaton, Keyboardist and Vocalist says this about the new album:
“This album feels very alive to me, it’s more urgent than we’ve been, it’s much more collaborative than some of our earlier ones were. It’s the best Rob has ever sounded, I think. Steve is playing out of his skin and trying out ideas like playing a concert tom kit. Ant is absolutely on fire throughout and Dean and Doug cover so much sonic ground between them. I’ve certainly tried to incorporate new colours for us that brings it - I’d hope - into a more contemporary light”.

The album will be released on both CD and a limited edition LP both packaged in a sleeve created by Anubis’ long time designer Tim Neill.

Pre-order “Homeless” here.

1. Reflective
2. Entitled
3. White Ashes
4. Home 
5. Homeless
6. The Tables Have Turned
7. Sirens
8. In Shadows
10. Gone

Anubis was formed in 2004 by vocalist Robert James Moulding and keyboardist David Eaton and features Douglas Skene (Hemina) on guitars, Dean Bennison on guitars, Steven Eaton on drums and Anthony Stewart on bass. 

The group released the “230503” album in 2009, followed by “A Tower of Silence” in 2011 which unexpectedly gained attention in mainland Europe. After releasing the “Hitchhiking to Byzantium” in 2014, the band performed in Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom and in Australia they supported local tours by Anathema and Uriah Heep. The fourth studio album “The Second Hand” took them back to Europe culminating at a well-received performance at The Night of the Prog festival in Loreley in July 2018.

The band are known for their modern melodic progressive rock - with a conceptual lyrical approach, vocal harmonies, interlocking guitar work, textured keyboard layering over a supple rhythm section.
Robert James Moulding - Lead Vocals, Lyrics, Bass Guitar and Percussion
David Eaton - Keyboards and Vocals
Douglas Skene - Guitars and Vocals
Dean Bennison - Guitar, Slide Guitar and Vocals
Anthony Stewart - Bass and Vocals
Steven Eaton - Drums and Vocals