Rendezvous Point - Solar Storm

Rendezvous Point Solar Storm cover
Rendezvous Point
Solar Storm
Karisma Records
Rendezvous Point is a newcomer coming from Norway. The band formed in 2010 and consists of: Geirmund Hansen on vocals, Baard Kolstad (Leprous, Borknagar, ICS Vortex) on drums, Petter Hallaraker (ICS Vortex, Solefald) on guitar, Nicolai Tangen Svennæs (Emilie Nicolas) on keyboards and Gunn-Hilde Erstad on bass.
All the members met when they studied rhythmical music at the University of Agder (in Kristiansand). Even though they were named the “most promising band” of southern Norway in 2012, it almost took them 3 more years to release their debut album. Rendezvous Point’s music style is an amalgam of neo-progressive rock, rock, djent (here & there), prog metal and modern rock/metal music. Surely, the band showcases some experimental tendencies though the album but modern sound permeates the overall outcome. The musicianship is great and you’ll find several technical moments along the way. The production is massive & full. The album was mastered by Jens Bogren (Paradise Lost, Katatonia, Opeth etc.) at Fascination Street.
Rendezvous Point is, undoubtedly, a quite talented band. “Solar Storm” is a fine piece or modern prog rock/metal music, which sets the basis for what’s to come in the near future. I think it would be a smart idea to retain their contemporary sound but also add more “classic” prog rock/metal (from the 70s & 80s) elements to their music. Their melodies should be a bit updated and more captivating on the whole. Anyhow, this is my personal point of view. Only time will tell what will be… so we’ll take a taste when their sophomore release is released… till then, just enjoy Solar Storm”.