Legion of the Damned - Ravenous Plague

Legion of the Damned Ravenous Plague cover
Legion of the Damned
Ravenous Plague
Napalm Records
Three years after “Descent Into Chaos”, Legion of the Damned returns with “Ravenous Plague”, which is also the first studio release with their new guitarist Twan van Geel (Bunkur, Flesh Made Sin, Verbum Verus, ex-Sauron). Without changing anything in their sound, the guys offer the usual thrash/death metal music. Aggressive, harsh, evil and full of hatred.
The most interesting thing here is the instrumental intro “The Apocalyptic Surge” which has been entirely written by the famous German composer Jo Blankenburg. Other than that, there’s a guest appearance by the guitarist Hein Willekens (Insaint, ex-Tornado, ex-Persistense) on “Morbid Death”. The album was mixed by the renowned producer by Andy Classen (Belphegor, Suidakra, Holy Moses, Krisiun, Rotting Christ, Tankard etc.) at Stage One Studio & produced by Andy himself and the band.
Alas, “Ravenous Plague” doesn’t cover any new ground, it’s rather tiresome and not that listenable at long last. After a certain point, it becomes boring due to the identical song structures and the generic and bland songwriting. It may have a strong & vigorous production but apart from that everything else here is monotonous & lackluster…