Wars to release new studio album “A Hundred Shivers” on November 26th 2021

Wars A Hundred Shivers cover
Wars have released their brand new single “A Hundred Shivers”. The new track is the latest to be taken from “Chapter Four”, the final instalment of new music from their upcoming album “A Hundred Shivers” out on November 26th, 2021, via A Wolf at Your Door. Watch the visualiser below.

Despite its name, “A Fragile Thing” is a raw and ready powerhouse bursting with blistering guitars, biting vocals and an infectious chorus. Addressing the delicate and often combustible nature of our mind’s inner workings, the song is one of encouragement, urging those struggling to focus on enjoying the positives rather than anxiously awaiting the next low.

Vocalist Rob Vicars comments: “In ‘Chapter Four’ of ‘A Hundred Shivers’, the songs have really been about a feeling of change, and the fear and uncertainty that comes with that. While [previous single] ‘Grief, They Named It’ was about how we tackle the sudden, big changes in our life, ‘A Fragile Thing’ is about dealing with a mental state that can change at any moment, in ourselves and others. Sometimes the fragility of our state of mind can be a bit of a mental pitfall in itself. I get so in my head about what ‘might’ set me off sometimes, about just how temporary a positive place can feel, that that’s what causes it to all fall away. And when you see that in someone else, someone you love and care about, it’s still so difficult to know how to handle”.

The band have also launched the pre-orders for “A Hundred Shivers”, a full length album with all four released chapters bound together in a musical omnibus. Releasing an album in chapters is untraditional, but it gave the band the opportunity to be more creatively free, enclosing messages and themes within each release to ultimately piece together a diverse and exciting album. 

Speaking about the release, Rob shares: “‘A Hundred Shivers’ has shaped our lives for a bit longer than we first anticipated, and we are so excited to finally announce the release of all the chapters combined in one record. As we get ready for it to come out, and as the world seemingly, slowly, creeps back into a being we recognise, it almost seems overwhelming. We can’t wait to share what remains of this record with you; it has been our raft in the river for so long – maybe it can be yours now too”.

Wars released “Chapter One” at the very beginning of last year, which is made up of the tracks “Only Monsters” and “A Fog of Feeling”. “Chapter Two” arrived a few months later, which was comprised of “Murmurs” and “I Don’t Feel A Thing”, and “Chapter Three” dropped earlier this year showcasing “A Hell Behind My Eyes” and “High Art, Low Culture”. “Grief, They Named It” was the first excerpt from “Chapter Four” and is now followed by “A Fragile Thing”, completing the final instalment of new music ahead of the arrival “A Hundred Shivers”. 

“A Hundred Shivers” is produced by Matt O’Grady, who has also worked with Architects, Don Broco, Deaf Havana, and You Me at Six.

Pre-order “A Hundred Shivers” here.

1. So The Soul
2. But The Light Trembles In
3. A Fragile Thing
4. Grief, They Named It
5. A Hell Behind My Eyes
6. High Art, Low Culture
7. I Don’t Feel A Thing
8. Murmurs
9. A Fog Of Feeling
10. Only Monsters
11. As Within, So Without