Ghost Bath to release new studio album “Self Loather” on October 29th 2021

Ghost Bath Self Loather cover
Atmospheric black metallers Ghost Bath announced their fourth full-length album, “Self Loather” will be released on October 29th, 2021, via Nuclear Blast Records. 

On the album, the band closes out the trilogy—tragedy, ecstasy, and dread/hatred—and hosts their most devastating and dark music to date. Today, the band releases the first single, “Convince Me to Bleed”. Check out the visualizer, below.

Dennis Mikula comments: “"Self Loather" was always a part of my creative vision. I had imagined this final record of the trilogy to be heavier, more devastating, dark, and vicious. It is by far the record most filled with hatred. The three basic human emotions I wanted to capture were tragedy ("Moonlover"), ecstasy ("Starmourner"), and dread/hatred ("Self Loather"). While at the same time, all of these express depression and sorrow. I believe in this record we found our sound. The original title was Sunloather, and though I hate the sun, I found that it did not fit with the theme of everything we were forming. There is something I hate much more than the sun. And so we made the decision to forego the cosmic prefix and replace it with the true nature of this album. Self”.

Pre-order “Self Loather” here.

1. Convince Me to Bleed
2. Hide from the Sun (feat. CJ McMahon of THY ART IS MURDER) 
3. Shrines of Bone
4. Sanguine Mask
5. Crystal Lattice
6. Sinew and Vein (feat. Graf of PSYCHONAUT 4)
7. I Hope Death Finds Me Well
8. For it is a Veil
9. Unbearable
10. Flickering Wicks of Black

Ghost Bath’s fourth full-length sets the mood meter to desolation/antipathy - and never quite let’s go. Produced by the band with Xander Moser engineering at Tree Speak Recording Studio in Minneapolis and mixed by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Bosse-De-Nage) at The Atomic Garden Recording Studios in Oakland, “Self Loather” is a sonic exercise in shadow, nuance, and, most of all, power. The band enlisted Zdzisław Beksiński to create the cover artwork, which was licensed through the Muzeum Historyczne w Sanoku.

Dennis Mikula - Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Synths, Lyrics
Tim Church - Guitar
John Olivier - Guitar
Josh Jaye - Bass
Jason Hirt - Drums