TheNightTimeProject releases music video for new single “Final Light”

TheNightTimeProject video pic
Melancholic progressive rock supergroup TheNightTimeProject have streamed their new single from their second album, “Pale Season”, due for release on June 28th, 2019, via Debemur Morti Productions.

The band has released a new single and video for “Final Light” - watch it below.

With the debut of their epic new video for “Final Light”, which was directed by Dronicon Films, TheNightTimeProject’s Alexander Backlund notes: “"Final Light" is about the relativity of time. It can feel as if life is slowing down while time is speeding up, or vice versa. We all get caught in the clasp of stagnation sometimes, and it’s important to recognise and act upon it. Time is a finite resource. I really enjoy the instrumentation as it captures elements I like from the 70s, 80s, and 90s. You got the roaring organs, the big hair-metal guitars in the middle 8 section together with a grunge-like heaviness and aggression”.
Of the new video itself, Backlund offers: “Dronicon Films did an amazing job on the video as well. It’s a different angle, but visually it just works so well together with the overall texture and ambience of the song. At times it kind of looks like the cover art for the album, Dirt, by Alice in Chains, but with an Argentinian viking shaman”.

The Swedish quartet include Fredrik Norrman (guitars) and Mattias Norrman (bass), who spent fifteen years in Katatonia, and are now also active in October Tide. Guitar/vocalist Alexander Backlund and drummer Jonas Sköld are also in Letters From The Colony (Nuclear Blast Records).

The “Pale Season” album title - despite what some might think - does not refer to the eight out of twelve months where the weather in Sweden is a signature grey. Instead, it refers to those less-colourful patches of memory - years that fly by without anything spectacular happening, which pale in comparison to the vividness of one’s childhood or the early days of romance.

This, in other words, is an album for all those moments lost in between the extremes of the emotional spectrum.

Elements of Porcupine Tree, Opeth, Anathema, Katatonia and A Perfect Circle combine to create a record that is sublime in its understatedness. A paean to melancholia, “Pale Season” is also not without its moments of physical and emotional heft, and will launch Thenighttimeproject on to the international stage.

Pre-order “Pale Season”: Bandcamp, North America store and Euro store.

1. Hound (04:16)
2. Rotting Eden (05:34)
3. Binary (04:52)
4. Final Light (07:33)
5. Embers (04:41)
6. Pale Season (04:33)
7. Anti Meridian (06:29)
8. Signals in the Sky (07:52)
9. Meridian (02:37)

Alexander Backlund - Guitars and vocals
Fredrik Norrman - Guitars
Mattias Norrman - Bass
Jonas Sköld - Drums