Lee Aaron to release new album “Almost Christmas” on November 26th 2021

Lee Aaron Almost Christmas cover
Canadian powerhouse vocalist Lee Aaron has had a lengthy and musically adventurous career that spans many kinds of different styles like rock, jazz, blues, opera and more.

But there’s one project this multi - Juno nominee had considered often but the timing was never right... A Christmas album.

Lee and her band (Sean Kelly-guitar, Dave Reimer-bass & John Cody-drums) had tossed around the idea of a Christmas album over the years, but there was always something – tours/recording/life etc. – that kept the project on the back burner. 2020 and Covid-19 brought a new reality.

With their shows around the globe cancelled there was suddenly an abundance of time. Over the summer, the band began releasing a series of Rockin’ from Home videos for fans, which escalated , so when the Christmas idea came up again in mid-September, it was a definite go.

“Each of us had upgraded our home studios, so we thought, heck yeah! We'd always wanted to do this, the only issue was that we should have started sooner! Realistically, we only had about a month to get all the tracks done, but it became a fun mission - and it kept us all from going stir crazy during this down time!”, says Aaron. “…and the last thing we wanted to create was a rehash of the same old songs so many other folks have already recorded. One or two classics maybe, but If we were going to do this, we wanted to make it really unique and different. It was such a blast putting it all together!”...

Almost Christmas” (out on November 26th, 2021) contains lovingly curated tunes - from the foot-stomping rock n’ roll ride of the feature track “It Doesn’t Often Snow at Christmas” (Pet Shop Boys) to the classic “Baby Please Come Home” to a sassy version of Louis Armstrong’s “Zat You Santa Claus?” - winding down with the introspective “All I Ever Get For Christmas is Blue” (Over the Rhine) and an acapella rendition of Joni Mitchell’s timeless “The Fiddle and the Drum”. You’ve never heard Christmas done quite like this. Lee also presents a brand new version of her 1991 hit “Peace On Earth”, which likewise, is as relevant now as it was when it was first released.

Aaron explains: “There’s a ton of passion and joy that went into these recordings. The album represented something really positive and hopeful that we could all focus on during this unprecedented down-time. It was a gift that lifted our spirits and we hope it has the same effect on others”.

Last year, the album could only be ordered via Lee Aaron’s own shop and will now be available in stores for the first time with the addition of two new songs.

1. Everything’s Gonna Be Cool This Christmas
2. Baby Please Come home
3. Run, Run, Rudolph
4. It Doesn’t Often Snow at Christmas
5. Zat You Santa Claus?
6. I Don’t Believe in Christmas
7. Merry Christmas Everybody
8. All I Ever Get for Christmas is Blue
9. Peace On Earth
10. The Fiddle and the Drum
11. Almost Christmas (new song)
12. More Fun on the Naughty List (new song)

Lee Aaron - Lead vocals
Sean Kelly - Guitars
Dave Reimer - Bass
John Cody - Drums