Iamthemorning to release “Lighthouse” on April 1st 2016

Iamthemorning Lighthouse cover
Kscope will release the brand new studio album “Lighthouse” from Russian progressive duo Iamthemorning on April 1st, 2016 (June 3rd in France).

“Lighthouse” is the follow up to the band's 2014 album “Belighted”. “Lighthouse” will be released on CD, LP (with MP3 download code) and digitally.

Formed in 2010 in St Petersburg, Russia, Iamthemorning features pianist Gleb Kolyadin and the charismatic vocals of Marjana Semkina. The band self-released its debut album in 2012 before signing to Kscope and releasing “Belighted”, its first record for the label in September 2014. In 2015 the duo toured Europe with labels mates, the art-progressive outfit, Gazpacho.

As with “Belighted”, the engineering and mixing on “Lighthouse” is handled by Marcel van Limbeek (Tori Amos) and self-produced by Gleb and Marjana. The album also features guest musicians Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson) on drums, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree) on bass and additional vocals on the album's title track by Mariusz Duda (Lunatic Soul, Riverside).

“Lighthouse” is a rich and eclectic album with echoes of classical music, the Canterbury scene, northern folk, jazz and electronic sounds. Featuring a story of the progression of mental illness, the album takes the listener through the stages with the story's central character, her attempts to fight it, and temporal remission leading to a final breakdown. Lyrically, the works and lives of Virginia Woolf and Sylvia Plath inspire the album.

Recorded across London, Moscow & St Petersburg, the core instrument of the band, the grand piano, was recorded in Mosfilm Studios Moscow, one of the largest and oldest studios in Russia. Founded in 1920, Mosfilm is renowned for recording orchestras for soundtracks for the most famous Soviet-era films, including works by Tarkovsky and Eisenstein.

The album artwork for “Lighthouse” was created by watercolor artist Constantine Nagishkin, who the band has previously collaborated with before.

1. I Came Before the Water (pt. I)
2. Too Many Years
3. Clear Clearer
4. Sleeping Pills
5. Libretto Horror
6. Lighthouse (feat. Mariusz Duda)
7. Harmony
8. Matches
9. Belighted
10. Chalk and Coal
11. I Came Before the Water (pt. II)
12. Post Scriptum

Pre-order “Lighthouse” here.

Stay tuned for more information on Iamthemorning and “Lighthouse”, out this spring on Kscope.
Marjana Semkina - Vocals
Gleb Kolyadin - Grand piano, keyboards