Satanarchist to release new studio album “First Against the Wall” on June 2nd 2017

Satanarchist First Against the Wall cover
Boiling forth from the inner depths of the Portland punk/metal scene, manic duo formed by two former members of Spectral Tombs, Satanarchist, arises with the band’s second album, “First Against the Wall”, set for independent release as the band sets out on a cross-Canada tour.

Writing music that embodies the band’s philosophies of atheism, Satanism and anarchism reflected in a sound that fuses black metal, anarcho-punk and thrash, Satanarchist creates unrelentingly fast riffs and rhythms in response to the proliferation and popularity of insufferably slow doom metal and a rejection of the reliance on gear and effects pedals to create weight and atmosphere at the expense of complex, interesting and engaging songwriting, using no effects or pedals beyond head distortion on a pair of ENGL Powerball guitar amps and a distorted Ampeg SVT bass rig.

The follow-up to their 2014-released “Making Threats At Punks Again” debut, on Satanarchist’s “First Against the Wall” brutalizer, drummer/lyricist Mark Nunziata and guitarist/vocalist John Edwards maintain a similar hybrid of rabid metal/punk styles as before, but the material exhibits a progression in the intricacy and complexity of the songwriting. The lyrics deepen into a more straightforwardly political realm addressing environmental devastation and ecological sustainability, the rise of fascism in US politics, the damage wrought by the institution of religion, and the weight of death and loss. In addition to nine searing Satanarchist anthems, “First Against the Wall” comes to a finale with a cover of the macabre ballad “Silver Ships of Andilar” by Texas country legend Townes Van Zandt.

Recorded and mixed by Fester at Haywire Studios (Usnea, Rabbits, Stoneburner) and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Obituary, Integrity, Nails), “First Against the Wall” is completed with artwork and design by FTG Illustrations based on a concept by Satanarchist. The unrelenting album will entice diehard death/black/thrash worshippers as well as devotees of unrelenting crust/d-beat punk and social activism.

Satanarchist will independently release “First Against the Wall” digitally and on CD on June 2nd, 2017.

Pre-order the album here.

1. Paradox
2. Boil Alive
3. Tempest of Sorrow
4. Be at Peace
5. Feast
6. Unknown
7. Triumph
8. Lent is Theft
9. Suffer
10. Silver Ships of Andilar

Directly in conjunction with the release of “First Against the Wall”, Satanarchist will embark on the first of several tours supporting the album. This Canada-only trek sees the band hitting cities across the majority of the country. The first leg of the tour sees Satanarchist alongside Spinesplitter, and the rest of the dates see them paired with Hard Charger. Watch for additional tour dates to be announced in the coming weeks.

Canadian Tour Dates 2017:
5/26/2017 The Beer Gardens – Charlottetown, PEI w/ Spinesplitter, Busted Skulls
5/27/2017 Gus Pub – Halifax, NS w/ Spinesplitter, CrotchRot, Versifist
5/28/2017 Claudes House – Moncton, NB w/ Spinesplitter. Diner Drugs
5/29/2017 The Capital – Fredericton, NB w/ Spinesplitter, Mangler
6/01/2017 Maniac Mansion – Fredericton, NB w/ Hard Charger
6/02/2017 Scanner Bistro – Quebec City, QC w/ Hard Charger
6/03/2017 House Of Targ – Ottawa, ON w/ Hard Charger
6/0/2017 The Garnet – Peterborough, ON w/ Hard Charger
6/05/2017 Doors Pub – Hamilton, ON w/ Hard Charger, Greber, Thick Piss
6/06/2017 The Windsor Beer Exchange – Windsor, ON w/ Hard Charger
6/07/2017 The Temple – St. Catherines, ON w/ Hard Charger
6/08/2017 Coalition – Toronto, ON w/ Hard Charger, F*ckhawk, Black Tar
6/09/2017 Fattal – Montreal, QC w/ Hard Charger
6/10/2017 Rock Le Stage – Trois Rivieres, QC w/ Hard Charger