Pridelands to release debut album “Light Bends” on January 14th 2022

Pridelands Light Bends cover
Aussie metal quintet Pridelands have revealed new single “The Lake of Twisted Limbs” from their forthcoming debut album, “Light Bends”, that’s due out January 14th, 2022, via SharpTone Records.

Fans can stream the new track here and watch the music video below.

Commenting on the new single, the band states:
“"The Lake of Twisted Limbs" was a song that in a lot of ways came naturally in the writing process but took an emotional toll on all of us. It’s about attempting to pull someone back from the brink of total self-destruction and how ultimately that attempt is futile if that person refused to be saved. Getting better is sadly a choice that someone needs to make for themselves. So, in essence, the song is about reaching out despite being aware of the futility there. I think we’ve all felt that in one way or another - perhaps from both sides of the coin”.

Pridelands new song follows a string of crushing singles from “Light Bends” that the band has rolled out over the last few months including “The Walls” and “Heavy Tongue”, which has stirred up excitement and anticipation around the world. The upcoming record was produced by Jamie Marinos and band, mixed by George Lever at G1 Productions UK (Loathe, Sleep Token) and mastered by Ermin Hamidovic at Systematic Productions AUS (Architects, Northlane, Periphery).

The band adds about the new album:
“"Light Bends" is a very personal record for us in every sense of the word. The lyrics, the instrumentals, the melodies were all written because they were stories that we wanted to tell and songs that we wanted to hear. It delves into a lot of subjects, and a lot of them came from our collective life experiences. It was therapeutic for all of us to come together, share our pain and trauma and weave it together it into our debut record. There’s nothing we would change about it and the team we worked with to make it happen are incredible from top to bottom. We sincerely hope that the people out there who listen to it can connect to Light Bends emotionally in the way that we have”.

Pre-order “Light Bends” here.

01. I Reach Into Your Heart
02. The Walls
03. Parallel Lines
04. Parted Time
05. The Lake of Twisted Limbs
06. Safer Here
07. Heavy Tongue
08. Antipathy
09. Translucent Blues
10. Evergrowth
11. The Sun Will Find Us

“There can be no hope without despair, no love without loss”, Pridelands’ vocalist/lyricist Joshua Cory explains of “Light Bends”’ core lyrical concept. “The chaos is the balance and we must bend toward its will, accepting the shadow as part of the light”.
“I never in a million years would’ve imagined that our debut album would end up this way”, Liam Fowler – the Melbourne-based, five-piece metal band’s guitarist/primary songwriter – proudly admits. “Being our debut album, we wanted it to be ‘perfect’” .
The arrangements throughout Pridelands’ striking 11-song collection are supple, lurching, unpredictable and exhilarating. Prepare to be blown away by sudden shifts in tone as serene moments are invaded, unexpectedly, by brutality and chaos. Pridelands take aim and really take it there on their debut record. Light Bends is one hell of a wild ride.
Jamie Marinos sat in the producer’s chair for Pridelands’ second EP, 2018’s critically acclaimed “Any Colour You Desire”, and returned to the fold for “Light Bends”. But when COVID-related lockdown struck, the band took over production and engineering duties.

Joshua Cory - Vocals
Mason Bunt - Vocals
Liam Fowler - Guitar
Daniel Lohrey - Bass
Joe Lipsham - Drums