Nothing Sacred to release new studio album “No Gods” on July 16th 2021

Nothing Sacred No Gods cover
One of the earliest Australian bands to play thrash/speed metal, Nothing Sacred was conceived in Melbourne, Australia in 1983. Unleashing their debut EP “Deathwish” in early 1985, launching the band as one of the most sought-after pit makers with the record’s title track becoming a classic within the Australian metal scene.

In 1988, the band unleashed their first full-length entitled “Let Us Prey” on Cleopatra Records. Unfortunately a year after the LP’s release, the band disbanded in 1989. Lead guitarist Mark Woolley, bassist Karl Lean and drummer Sham went on to contribute to Hobbs’ Angel of Death’s early work in the late 1980s. Woolley also appeared on Hobbs’ first self-titled album in 1988. Vocalist Mick Burnham later joined short-lived Melbourne band Seizure in 1993.

Although their tenure was short-lived, Nothing Sacred still remains an underground metal phenomenon in Australia. Songs from the “Deathwish” EP still get airplay on several Australian metal radio programs.

In 2012, Nothing Sacred performed a series 30th anniversary shows with Ross Percy (Ion Drive, Little House Godz) joining George Larin on guitar that included a support slot for the ex-Iron Maiden vocalists Paul Di’AnnoP/Blaze Bayley Australian tour. Despite the success, the band agreed not to continue and returned to retirement.

In 2015, the band decided to re-activate with a lineup of Sham, Karl Lean, George Larin, Ross Percy, and new vocalist Chris Stark. A slot on Melbourne’s Brewtality Metal Festival received positive reviews before the band embarked on a short tour of Japan, which inspired them to continue and lead the band to headline day one of the Steel Assassins Festival in Sydney.

Line-up changes again slowed the band, but with the addition of James Davies now on vocals and Stu Bedford on guitar, the band spent most of 2019 and 2020 writing and recording, what is now to be their first full length in over 30 years. Entitled “No Gods”, the record is the Nothing Sacred’s resurrection to the thrash world. With a wealth of experience, a bucket load of riffs, and a renewed energy for one of Australia’s longest-running metal bands. 

The band adds:
“We think our return with this new album will be received well. We’ve made a conscious effort to not be one-dimensional. We picked a cross-section of tracks we thought would make the album interesting. Though eight of the tracks are brand new, we decided to add two tracks "Final Crime" and "Oracle" we wrote for our 2nd album in the late 80s, but never released”.

To give fans a preview of what’s to come, Nothing Sacred is sharing their music video for the first single “Final Crime”. Watch the new videobelow.

The band comments:
“This is one of the two tracks we’d chosen for the "No Gods" album from our archives that we’d written many moons ago. I saw acid rain and smog, you saw the sunset and a rainbow. There’s no tomorrow just a blank, you’ve only got yourself to thank. Don’t tell me that you never knew, you thought that hope would pull you through. I think those are our favorite lines from Mick Burnham. There’s nothing like stupid people doing nothing till it’s too late. Though this is one of our favorite tracks for some reason, it was never properly recorded and released. Here she is in all her glory, enjoy!”...

“No Gods” will be released on July 16th, 2021, via Rockshots Records. Pre-order the album on CD here and digital here.
1. Final Crime (3:41)
2. Virus (4:22)
3. Cold Black (3:38)
4. First World Problems (4:15)
5. Killing You (3:34)
6. False Prophets (4:00)
7. Ice (3:31)
8. Cult (4:38)
9. Oracle (3:32)
10. Stoner (5:27)

Stu Bedford - Guitar
James Davies - Vocals
Karl Lean - Bass
Sham - Drums
George Larin - Guitar