Evergrey to release new studio album “Escape of the Phoenix” on February 26th 2021

Evergrey Escape of the Phoenix cover
Swedish progressive metal band Evergrey is gearing up for the release of their highly anticipated 12th album - on February 26th, 2021, they will release “Escape of the Phoenix”, another heavy, melancholic and thought-provoking journey as only Evergrey can create.

The day has finally come to unchain the video and song “Forever Outsider”. Stomping and grooving forward, this song takes no prisoners - inevitably dragging listeners into the ambitious and energetic Evergrey universe. An excellent and entertaining first single to shorten the wait for the new album. Enjoy the awesome new lyric video for “Forever Outsider” below.

Written and recorded during the ongoing global Covid-19 pandemic, “Escape of the Phoenix” came to life according to plans that had been laid out in 2019. Englund and drummer Jonas Ekdahl began composing the songs in January, creating a foundation for the album before Evergrey gathered together and arranged the songs as a group. Unlike a typical creative process, which is often interrupted by appointments, travelling and one-off shows, lockdown requirements gave the band much needed time to work unhindered.

The result is 11 songs that embody everything Evergrey fans have to expect, albeit “a more metal version of "The Atlantic", with songs that are more direct”, according to Englund and producer Jacob Hansen.

Pre-order “Escape of the Phoenix” here.

01. Forever Outsider
02. Where August Mourns
03. Stories
04. A Dandellion Cipher
05. The Beholder
06. In The Absence of Sun
07. Eternal Nocturnal
08. Escape of the Phoenix
09. You From You
10. Leaden Saints
11. Run
12. The Darkness in You (Artbook Bonus)