Death Pop Radio to release self-titled debut album on May 7th 2021

Death Pop Radio ST cover
Death Pop Radio announces their self-titled debut album, released on May 7th, 2021, via Dark Star Records.

Watch the video for the new single “Rock ‘em Sock ‘em” below.

Death Pop Radio began their journey as a song, not a band. A fun collaboration that quickly blossomed into a full-blown Hard-Pop-Grunge melting pot of backstories and musical experience.

“This album, for Death Pop Radio, was a perfect reflection of what happens when you take four guys with a wide range of tastes musically, mix in self-reflection, some humor, some horror, a pandemic, and heat it all up over a flame of desire to create something you were waiting for someone else to do”, says the band.

“Death Pop Radio has the fire, the image, the sound and the songs that will destroy all in its path... the road ahead looks clear, once unleashed there will be no stopping this monster”, states Jeffrey A. Swanson / President of Dark Star Records.

Their debut single and video, “Ravens”, had thousands of views and hits within days. Death Pop Radio was born and came into the world with a natural buzz within the Chicago music scene.

The band started in late 2017 when guitarist Dee J Nelson ran into lead vocalist Eric Liljehorn at a King’s-X show in Chicago. A few quick words; a potential collaboration and mutual love for all things musical. The two began working on a few of Dee J’s songs together and both could tell something right away was simply “clicking”. Shortly after the release of “Ravens” it was clear a full band was in order. In need of a name, the band started out by temporarily using the title of its flagship song “Ravens” and while the temp name stuck longer than expected the guys eventually found the name that would fit them and their unique blend of rock and grunge - Death Pop Radio.

Dee J and Eric were soon joined by two Chicago area veterans, drummer Jimmy B and bassist Mike Streicher. With a mixed bag rhythm section of thrashy, grunge drumming and hard rock bass added into the fray, DPR was on their way to creating their own flavor and sound. DPR’s haunted funhouse style is on full display in forthcoming singles include “Rock ‘em Sock ‘em”, “Ravens”, and “Wake Up Drop Dead”. With their raw and driving rhythms and sing-along style hooks, Death Pop Radio’s sound sits comfortably somewhere between Kings X and White Zombie. Add in a sprinkle of industrial sound design and this blackbird soars. The response has been nothing short of overwhelming... Is it the death of pop? No, it’s just Death Pop Radio!

“Standing on the shoulders of Alice Cooper and Rob Zombie, Death Pop Radio perpetrate a cheeky brand of macabre rock mischief, sounding like a hummable slasher flick or a head-banging haunted house ride”, says Andee Blacksugar (KMFDM).

“Dee J is such a fun and interesting guitar player. He writes really hooky riffs and killer, smart little guitar licks. Great guitarist! He’s like an alien!”, says Edsel Dope.

“I’ve had the unique opportunity of watching Death Pop Radio grow from an idea, to a single song, to the powerful force of hard rock that they have become. And I have enjoyed every last minute of that ride. Every single time I hear a new song by them, or watch them perform live, it is obvious that they are even better than they were before. Their sound becomes tighter and more well-defined, while the songs become more creative...and that’s what excites me most about them. I love what they’ve done in the past, but I’m most excited to see what comes next!”, comments Dan Milligan (The Joy Thieves).

Pre-order “Death Pop Radio” here.

1. Monster TV
2. Ravens
3. Rock ‘em Sock ‘em
4. Bitten Lips
5. Wake Up Drop Dead
6. Roses and Disdain
7. Knocked Down
8. Rat Tail
9. Jesus Crisis
10. Flatliners
11. F@#k It!
12. Like A Bomb (The Joy Thieves Remix)
13. F@#k It! (Radio Edit)
14. Knocked Down (Radio Edit)

Produced by Dee J Nelson Mixed by Dee J Nelson  
Engineered by Dee J Nelson
Recorded at DJN Music Studio

Dee J Guitars - Vocals/Production
Eric Liljehorn/EL Mysterioso - Vocals / Lyrics 
Mike Streicher - Bass/Vocals
Jim Bluthardt – Drums