Violent Soho to release new studio album “Everything is A-OK” on April 3rd 2020

Violent Soho Everything is A-OK cover
Australian rock band, Violent Soho, have announced that they’ve signed to Pure Noise Records. To celebrate the recent partnership, they’ve released a new single and video, entitled “Lying on the Floor”. This follows the releases of singles “A-OK” and “Vacation Forever”.

On signing with Pure Noise Records, the band shares: “We’re stoked to be signing with Pure Noise. We’re big fans of what they do as a label and we’re even more stoked to be signing to the same label as Knocked Loose and Spanish Love Songs!”.

Additionally, the band has announced the release of their fifth studio album, “Everything is A-OK” due out on April 3rd, 2020, via their new label. The forthcoming record is the home of all three singles released over the past few months. 

After years of being the kids who didn’t fit in anywhere with their first two records (2008’s “We Don’t Belong Here”; 2010’s self-titled), Violent Soho crashed back into the public’s consciousness with 2013’s “Hungry Ghost” in a hail of riffs and “HELL F*CK YEAH”’s scrawled on arms, desks, and bathroom walls the world over. 2016’s “WACO”, meanwhile - despite a No.1 chart debut, ARIA awards, festival headlining spots and sold-out tours to the biggest crowds of their careers - came amid personal upheaval for drummer Michael Richards, bassist Luke Henery and guitarist James Tidswell.

But with “Everything is A-OK”, Mansfield’s favorite sons drew a metaphorical line in the sand: five albums into their career they didn’t want to follow a rulebook written by other people. That’s what “Everything Is A-OL” is: a declaration that THIS is who Violent Soho are as a band. As musicians. As mates. 

“It’s honest”, explains guitarist/vocalist Luke Boerdam. “It’s doesn’t claim to be anything it’s not: it’s apolitical, slacker, cynical, and trying to connect with people over a shared experience in pointing out society’s failures and the personal shit that follows”.

“Everything is A-OK” seethes with harsh reflection on the way the world has become obsessed with creating social media simulacra where everyone is repping their own ‘brand’, and how connection is fleeting and shallow. It ponders the ideas of agency, emotion and how they’re being sold to advertise who we want people to think we are, not who we actually are. Producer Greg Wales (You Am I, Sandpit, triple J’s Like A Version) captured the essence of such at New South Wales studio, The Grove Studios.

Pre-order “Everything is A-OK” here.

01. Sleep Year
02. Vacation Forever
03. Pick It Up Again
04. Canada
05. Shelf Life
06. Slow Down Sonic
07. Lying On The Floor
08. Easy
09. Pity Jar
10. A-OK

Additionally, Violent Soho will be playing four shows in late-April in support of the “Everything is A-OK”. The tour will be hitting Amsterdam, London, New York, and Los Angeles.