Gleb Kolyadin to release self-titled debut album on February 23rd 2018

Gleb Kolyadin cover
Following the success of two highly-praised albums with Iamthemorning, Russian virtuoso pianist Gleb Kolyadin affirms his musical authority with his debut, self-titled album on Kscope.

The record features a staggering who’s-who of performers, including: Gavin Harrison (King Crimson, Porcupine Tree) on drums; Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson) on bass; Theo Travis (Robert Fripp, Porcupine Tree, Steven Wilson) on flute and saxophone; the unmistakable voice and lyrics of Steve Hogarth (Marillion) alongside Mick Moss (Antimatter); and Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) on additional keys. “The single greatest pianist I’ve ever met in my life”, says Daniel Cavanagh (Anathema).

Gleb Kolyadin” is an emotive exploration of self-identity; a story of two parts with interweaving leitmotifs. The album’s central concept weaves through an elaborate tonal and thematic structure, built around the extraordinary rhythm section of Gavin Harrison and Nick Beggs, which is accented at its focal points by guest appearances from Steve Hogarth, Jordan Rudess, Mick Moss and Theo Travis.

The album is a collaborative piece with each musician recording their own parts separately, starting with Gleb recording himself on grand piano in Moscow Winter-Spring 2017 at the famed Mosfilm studio. The album was mixed and engineered by Vlad Avy, who also previously worked on the two Iamthemorning records. “Gleb Kolyadin” will be released on February 23rd, 2018, on CD / LP and digitally.

“Gleb Kolyadin is a beautiful pianist and a great musician. I was invited to collaborate on his new solo album and my mind was made up as soon as I heard the music”, says Steve Hogarth (Marillion).

“Gleb is an extremely rare talent as a pianist and as a composer. His compositions are very inspiring as he breaks new ground on the instrument”, stated Gavin Harrison (King Crimson & Porcupine Tree).

“Gleb Kolyadin is a rare talent. A virtuoso classical pianist with tremendous compositional skills… believe you will find the listening experience quite breath taking”, says Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson).

01. Insight
02. Astral Architecture (featuring Mick Moss)
03. White Dawn
04. Kaleidoscope
05. Eidolon
06. Into the Void
07. The Room
08. Confluence (featuring Steve Hogarth)
09. Constellation / The Bell
10. Echo / Sigh / Strand
11. Penrose Stairs
12. Storyteller (featuring Jordan Rudess)
13. The Best of Days (featuring Steve Hogarth)

Pre-order the album here.