Evi Vine releases music video for new single “My Only Son”

Evi Vine My Only Son single cover
London’s ethereal alt-rock outfitt Evi Vine presents her new single “My Only Son”, a touching track that was inspired by a close friend’s suicide. Writing this song helped her work through her pain. The video for this track was shot by Phillip Clemo, Colin Gary & Tim Shepherd, and directed by Phillip Clemo.

Watch the video for “My Only Son” below.

Stream & download the new single on Bandcamp and iTunes.

“I lost a young friend of mine a couple of years ago. He was a beautiful perfect & imperfect soul - as we all are... I can see his intelligent eyes, his unassuming beguiling smile, his beautiful hands... it hurts me now to think of him and the tears come”, says Evi Vine. “It seems only when I am most troubled in my heart that I write… a reflex, often an act i have no real memory of… the feeling of the words surge forward, more like a flood from my head to the paper & I am compelled to write in that moment... this song was my way of releasing some of that sorrow. the video is a textural interpretation of the last hours of a friend... he is now someone I knew in a different life… forever in the stars”.

This is the second single off her new album “Black Light White Dark”, which releases on February 22nd, 2019. This follows up the first single “Sabbath” featuring The Cure’s Simon Gallup on bass and Peter Yates of Fields of the Nephilim on guitar. The accompanying video was created by Craig Murray, known for his extensive work with Mogwai.

Produced by Dave Izumi (Nordic Giants, Ed Harcourt, Magic Numbers) and mixed by Phill Brown (Talk Talk, Jimmy Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, John Martyn, Robert Palmer), this album also features contributions from several other celebrated artists. Apart from Simon Gallup (The Cure), this album also involves Martyn Barker (Shriekback, Billy Bragg, Marianne Faithfull, Goldfrapp), Peter Yates (Fields Of The Nephilim), and Geraldine Swayne (Faust).

“The new album is intense – dark, layered, wonderfully atmospheric, fragile, and at times stripped bare – an album to get lost in….and then surface with Evi’s haunting and delicate vocals and the endless space”, explains engineer Phill Brown.

As a group, Evi Vine is joined by Steven Hill, Matt Tye and David ‘GB’ Smith. Their music explores the dark elemental nature of the human heart, as well as environmental and post-apocalyptic themes. Evi Vine’s sound is both sublime and haunting. Creating a unique and uncompromising atmosphere, the effect is reverential, physical music, evoking a rare experience that is beautiful, sparse and deeply intimate.

Evi Vine’s debut self-released debut album “..And So The Morning Comes” was heralded as “the underground gem of 2011” by Drowned in Sound, and championed by Simon Raymonde (Bella Union, Cocteau Twins) as his album of the year. Directed by Oscar winning Nick Brooks (Fight Club, The Matrix, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Evi joined with internationally acclaimed photographer Patrick Fraser to make the stunning video “For the Dreamers”.

Their second album “Give Your Heart to the Hawks” (2015) was co-produced by Richard Formby (Mogwai, Spacemen 3, Wild Beasts) and mixed by the legendary Phill Brown (Talk Talk, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Robert Plant, Beth Gibbons, Throwing Muses). The album also featured Martyn Barker, Peter Yates, Tatia Starkey (My Vitriol/Lola Colt), and Billy Cote (Madder Rose).

Evi formed this band while living in LA, quickly getting a support show opening for Slash at the Whiskey-aGoGo. She has collaborated with Graham Revell (SPK, The Crow Soundtrack), The Eden House, Tony Pettit (Fields Of The Nephilim), and Peter Yates (Fields Of The Nephilim). In 2016, Evi sang on Phillip Clemo’s “DreamMaps” album, together with Talk Talk’s Simon Edwards and Martin Ditcham, subsequently making appearances on BBC6, BBC3 Late Junction and Jazz FM.

Evi Vine contributed backing vocals on The Mission’s 2016 album “Another Fall From Grace”, which hit the UK top-40 album chart, and collaborated with Michael Ciravolo on the debut album from LA-based Beauty in Chaos, involving members of The Cure, Ministry, The Mission, Cheap Trick, The Offspring, King’s X and Ice T, among others.

In recent years, Evi Vine has toured with The Mission, Chameleons Vox, Wayne Hussey, And Also The Trees, Phillip Boa and The Voodoo Club, and Her Name is Calla. After hearing Evi Vine’s debut album and including it among his top five albums, Wayne Hussey invited them to tour with him in 2016 and subsequently with The Mission in 2017. Invited on stage to sing three songs by The Mission, the seed was sown and Vine joined The Mission as featured vocalist for their 30th Anniversary Tour.

The full “Black Light White Dark” album can now be pre-ordered here. The first pressing is limited to 300 copies worldwide.

1. I am the Waves
2. Afterlight
3. Sabbath
4. My Only Son
5. We Are Made of Stars
6. Sad Song No.9

On February 6th, Evi Vine performs at Petit Bain in Paris in support of Brendan Perry of Dead Can Dance. Evi and Stevie feel deeply honoured to support Brendan as both Dead Can Dance and his solo work have always been a huge inspiration for them.