Vanishing Point - Distant is the Sun

Vanishing Point Distant is the Sun cover
Vanishing Point
Distant is the Sun
AFM Records
Definitely the music world has changed a lot in the last 7 years. Even our everyday life has changed so, reasonably, music couldn’t have been affected less by all those changes we are experiencing. Among all these, Vanishing Point gave it a shot and rose from the ashes.
Suffering the necessary line-up changes and having a new guitarist, James “Bushy” Maier (Drop Forged) & a new bassist Simon Best (ex-Envenomed) on board Vanishing Point seem determined to take their chances this second time. Staying focused on their plan more than ever before, they blend prog metal, power metal, heavy metal & melodic metal music harmonically. Moreover, to get the best out of the sound, the album was mixed by Sebastian “Seeb” Levermann (Orden Ogan) & mastered by Dennis Koehne (Lacuna Coil, Sodom). Thus the production is heavy, full & tight.
Overall, “Distant is the Sun” lasts around 63 minutes… it contains 13 tracks plus one intro. Heavy guitars, powerful drumming, strong hooks, tuneful keys, brilliant orchestrations along with a great sound is what you’ll come across as soon as you play this album. The guys do not fool around, not for a sec. They play like nuts and they put the best outta them. I wasn’t expecting something so splendid from a band that was absent for 7 years but Vanishing Point not only proved me wrong but they returned hungrier for metal than before.
“Distant is the Sun” features enough tracks to choose from and to revel in. I listened to the album throughout most of the times for there’s not a loose moment in it. Even “April” which is the last song closes the album ideally. Furthermore, “Circle of Fire” features a guest appearance by the vocalist Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica). This track has been released as a video too.
Succinctly, Vanishing Point returned after a 7-year hiatus with the top album of their career! They do seem ready to take it all the way and obviously they need our help to make it. “Distant is the Sun” is among the top melodic prog/power metal albums for 2014…