progressive rock

Gösta Berlings Saga to release new studio album “ET EX” on October 12th 2018

Progressive rock instrumentalists Gösta Berlings Saga from Stockholm, Sweden will be releasing their newest, 5th studio album effort entitled “ET EX” on October 12th, 2018, via InsideOut Music worldwide.

Therefore, GBS are now launching a new single entitled “The Shortcomings of Efficiency”, which also features acclaimed Swedish guitarist Henrik Palm (formerly of In Solitude, Ghost, etc.) as special guest.

Listen to the new single below.

GBS commented about the track as follows:

The Tangent to release new studio album “Proxy” on November 16th 2018

The Tangent, the progressive rock group led by Andy Tillison, will release their 10th studio album “Proxy” on November 16th, 2018.

Recorded during the band's tour with Karmakanic in 2017/18, which saw them with more chances than normal to work together on the record - hotel writing sessions, van discussions, soundcheck ideas - all of which have allowed the band to make an album that is as organic as they have achieved since their formation 15 years ago.

Gazpacho reveal new video for “Exit Suite” from new album “Soyuz”

Ahead of the release of their brand-new studio album, “Soyuz”, on May 18th, 2018, Norwegian Art-rock progressive outfit Gazpacho have revealed their visually stunning and emotive new video for the track “Exit Suite”.

Gazpacho’s Thomas Andersen explains the song’s creative birth: “"Exit Suite" is the cinematic sounding result of a night playing with matches in the studio. It is a song about the fear of dawn and the passing of the old day. The matches were supposed to be our short flickering lives in the dark universe and we ended up making a rhythm out of them and building a song on that rhythm”.

Gazpacho to release new studio album “Soyuz” on May 18th 2018

Known for their distinctive art rock that balances tense and beautiful arrangements, sinister and soulful melodic lines, Gazpacho’s “Soyuz” furthers their experimental output.

A band who are used to seizing headlines with bizarre stories, including The Independent (UK) branding “Molok” as “An album that could destroy the world”, Gazpacho have a holistic approach to the album writing process, imbuing each with a captivating concept.

That Joe Payne to release debut solo single “I Need a Change” on March 2nd 2018

That Joe Payne has set to release his debut solo single “I Need a Change” on March 2nd, 2018.

“I Need a Change” is the first of many compositions to feature on a forthcoming album, influenced entirely by the artist’s journey through depression and anxiety following a mental breakdown in 2016.

The B Side track, “Moonlit Love”, is exclusive to this single.

This record was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Max Read at The Lodge Recording Studios, Northampton. Some vocals were recorded at Joe’s home studio, also in Northampton.

The Tangent - The Slow Rust of Forgotten Machinery

The Tangent is a British prog band that has been releasing albums, post millennially without fail. In fact, I counter them among the most coherent bands in the genre, as they seem happy to return whenever they have a statement to make and boy do they have a few. Masterminded by Andy Tillison, who on this album assumes drumming as well, one thing that stands out is the inclusion of a female vocalist in the form of Marie-Eve de Gaultier. Otherwise things are as you might or might not remember them, depending on if this is your first introduction to the band or not.

Discipline to release new studio album “Captives of the Wine Dark Sea” on July 7th 2017

Detroit prog rock icons Discipline have just released the first single from their impending fifth studio album, “Captives Of The Wine Dark Sea”, which is set for release on July 7th, 2017. This is the band’s first record through Laser’s Edge.

The album’s second track, “Life Imitates Art”, is now a lyric video. Watch it below.

Pain Of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day

“I was born in this building, it was the first Tuesday I had ever seen – and if I live to see tomorrow, it will be my Tuesday number: 2119”…
You open the door. Hesitantly. Darkness frantically hits you in the face. Abruptness grasps you from the neck. Roughness rushes your skin, you feel trapped, but you like it. A smile ditches your face, while you are spinning in an emotional whirlwind made of tears and pain. Welcome back old friend. Welcome back Daniel. Welcome back Pain Of Salvation!

The Tangent release new track “A Few Steps Down the Wrong Road”

EU progressive rock band The Tangent have returned, following band leader Andy Tillison's heart attack last year and subsequent recuperation. Never one to shy away from confronting issues head on, Andy has enlisted his band-mates in The Tangent including Luke Machin, Jonas Reingold & Theo Travis, to create one 20-minute long piece titled “A Few Steps Down the Wrong Road”, which you can hear now below.